Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Painting Dreams

“I  dream of painting and then I paint my dream.” ~ Vincent Van Gogh

From my earliest years, I remember being in awe that my father painted. I was a young artist in bloom myself and my mom still has some of the little stick-figure crayon drawings that I was making at 3 years old. But my dad? He is a real artist. Some of his paintings were framed and hung up on the walls of my grandmother’s home. Huge canvases with beautiful seascapes, sweeping strokes of brilliant colors, tall mountains towering above alpine meadows.

I remember my dad being unsatisfied with a painting he had in the works and ripping the canvas apart to start anew. Now that I’m older, I think back on that and see a brooding artist who demanded perfection. Then, one day my dad stopped painting. I’ve never asked him why he stopped. Then we moved away from WA when I was a teenager and I never heard what happened to the paintings that hung in my grandma’s living room.

For Christmas 2012 I decided to give my dad a starter painting kit along with a request that he paint me a picture for birthday in June. June came and went without a picture in the mail but he was slowly starting to paint again. He told me about attempts that he had destroyed, about the progress of a piece that was working well. And in October a beautiful painting arrived at my door. It was of Dutch Harbor, Alaska – my home for 4 years as a teen. He had perfectly captured the chill of an Aleutian winter day, the wildness of the remote Last Frontier, and the melancholy that is part of living on a small island. I treasure it. I was so thrilled to have a piece of my dad’s creative brilliance to display in my new home – so proud of his artistic skill, and that I have a piece of my father to pass on to my own kids one day. But it was only the beginning.

My dad has been painting almost daily since that first piece was completed. He now has over 40 pieces that have filled up his home. Most of them depict landscapes of Alaska and the Pacific Northwest. Even in just the past few weeks I’ve seen his skill growing with each painting. Oregon Coast waves come alive and leap off of the canvas, I can almost feel the wind pulling at tree limbs, or hear the birds call to one another near a mountain river. And it seems like these paintings have ignited a dream for my dad.

He’s starting to sell his paintings. Right now he just wants to cover the cost of materials (which is a considerable expense when you think of buying 40+ canvases). The profits will allow him to continue painting, to continue his dream. I’ve been inviting friends to see the paintings and purchase any that they would like. All of the paintings below are acrylic on 16×20 canvas. He’s selling them for $50 each. If you’re interested in purchasing one of them, just go to his Facebook artist page for instructions or contact me for a Paypal link. I have most of the paintings (a huge box full) sitting in my livingroom right now and am willing to ship anywhere.

I’m so excited that my dad is painting his dreams again and I’m so honored to share these beautiful pieces with anyone who will enjoy them. Thanks for taking a look and I hope you all enjoy them as much as I do.

3 comments on “Painting Dreams

  1. Ariel
    February 7, 2014

    They’re all so beautiful! 🙂

    • Audrey
      February 18, 2014

      Isn’t he good?!

      • Ariel
        April 17, 2014

        He is, indeed! 🙂 sorry, haven’t been on here in a long time

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2014 by in Dreams, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
