Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Super Bowl Bacon Poppers

Happy Friday, All! With Super Bowl just around the corner, I figured a repost of this recipe was timely. Got a party to go to on Sunday and no idea what appy you’re going to bring? Meet the bacon popper. They’ve got a great kick, tempered with creamy delicious, and… well… BACON. This is my mister’s recipe and it’s always a hit.

Have a great weekend and GO HAWKS!!

Serves 4

What you need:

  • 6 jalapenos – halved and seeded
  • 1/4 c. cream cheese
  • 1/4 c. cotija or queso fresco
  • 6 strips thick-cut bacon – cut in half
  • toothpicks

What you do:

Heat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a small bowl mix the cream cheese and the Mexican cheese.

Fill the jalapenos with the cheese mixture.

Wrap the bacon around the jalapenos and hold in place with toothpicks.

Place poppers on a cookie cooling rack and set the rack over a baking sheet.

Bake for 20 minutes or until bacon is thoroughly cooked.

Remove toothpicks and dig in!

8 comments on “Super Bowl Bacon Poppers

  1. storiesbywilliams
    January 31, 2014

    Oh hell yes! I had a feeling you might be behind something of this nature 🙂 And they look so much better than bacon wrapped chicken livers. Had some at a Christmas party, were kind of odd, but I persevered because there was bacon involved. True story!

    • Audrey
      January 31, 2014

      Anything for the sake of bacon, eh? I’m not sure if I could do chicken livers… But I should never underestimate the power of bacon! We actually got a good friend to eat brussel sprouts for Thanksgiving dinner because we had bacon mixed up with it. And she loved it!

      • storiesbywilliams
        January 31, 2014

        Oh they are lovely, especially when covered with blue cheese dressing or Parmesan!

        Incidentally, did I recently ask a favor? I have this weird feeling there’s something I’m supposed to ask you lately.

  2. storiesbywilliams
    February 3, 2014

    I imagine you were pretty happy with the outcome of this Sunday weren’t you?

    • Audrey
      February 4, 2014

      I was so stoked!! Those guys deserve it, especially after being marginalized all season by sportscasters. So proud of them. 🙂
      Oh, I remember the favor. It’s next on my reading list! I have some “homework” reading for human trafficking that I’m trying to get through before I move on to anything else… Will keep you posted!

      • storiesbywilliams
        February 4, 2014

        Oh right. It was Papa Zulu, yes? I am looking for advance readings of that, and hopefully… reviews (blink, blink, blink)?

  3. betunada
    February 5, 2014

    our experience with “the game” would have been enhanced with your recipe! (otherwise, well, you know …)

    • Audrey
      February 18, 2014

      I kept thinking that as happy as we were, it must not have been much of a game for you guys. I hope you had fun friends, yummy snacks, and cold drinks though!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2014 by in Food and tagged , , , , , .
