Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Georgia On My Mind (and Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee, Alabama…)

Did you start singing along?

Gotta love a little Ray Charles.

Georgia (and all those other states) really is on my mind. Mr. J and I just bought plane tickets to Atlanta for April! Y’all (my southern accent is creeping in already) may already know of my insatiable desire to travel. Having a trip on the books satisfies my wanderlust for a time and I love the sense of looking forward to travel. Plus, I get to check this one off of my bucketlist for 2014!

101The purpose of this trip really is centered around my brother, S, who lives in Kentucky. Both of my brothers are in the Army and are scheduled for deployments very soon. D, the youngest brother who came to visit me last Christmas is headed to Germany. But S is going to be returning to Afghanistan for the 3rd time and I haven’t seen him in about 3 years. My heart aches to think of him being so far away, so J and I made it a priority to see him and his beautiful family this year before he leaves. I’m equally pleased to see my beautiful, sweet sister-in-law and my vibrant, adorable niece.

Antebellum

My dad and grandmother live a day’s drive south and west of S in Mississippi, in a little town right along the mighty Mississippi River! J and I will start our trip with the long drive from Atlanta to see them for a few days before driving through Mississippi, Alabama, and Tennessee, to Kentucky for some quality time with S. Then we will head back down to Georgia where my grandfather and his family grew up to visit some of my extended family. Who knew this PNW girl had southern roots! The funny thing is that I really do catch a southern accent quickly and it will stick with me for weeks after.

LBL

I’m already finding places I want to stop and see along our road trip. My fingers are crossed that we can go spelunking in Mammoth Cave (the longest cave system in the world), visit the Country Music Hall of Fame in Nashville, wander through some of the beautiful antebellum homes in Natchez, meet the largest herd of bison in the U.S. at Land Between the Lakes, and walk in the footsteps of early explorers on the Natchez Trace. J has a list of things he wants to see as well: namely the Jack Daniels Distillery (in a dry county, at that!), The Grand Ole Opry, and the Louisville Slugger Museum. I’m game!

Mammoth

All of this has made me grateful that unmolested travel is a luxury we can enjoy in this nation. To cross state lines without papers, to affordably travel nearly coast to coast in a single day, to break away from work and spend time with family, and to have men and women who honorably serve our country and sacrifice so much – we are incredibly fortunate and blessed.

So that’s the latest and greatest and it fairly has me daydreaming all day. I had to share the good news! And with that, I wish you all a great weekend. I’m off to plan a vacation with my hubby. 🙂

13 comments on “Georgia On My Mind (and Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee, Alabama…)

  1. storiesbywilliams
    January 24, 2014

    One of your bros is with the Screaming Eagles? Holy crap, that’s awesome! And bison, have you ever tried their meat before? Feels insensitive to ask with the picture of that majestic creature right there, but dammit if it isn’t good and good for you!

    • Audrey
      January 24, 2014

      Yeah, he’s pretty much a badass!! 🙂 I’m so proud of him. He’s been through hell and back.
      And bison is so delicious! There’s a place just down the road from my work that had a small herd and sells the meat. I made some venison burgers stiffed with blue cheese tonight that ran a close second though. 🙂 glad hubby is going to start hunting this year!

      • storiesbywilliams
        January 24, 2014

        Venison burgers and blue cheese??? I don’t know whether to suck up to you in the hopes of getting the recipe (or if you wanna mail one that’d work too), or indulge in the terrible jealousy I’m feeling and send you a raspberry! But since I’m hoping for your help with the zombie lit, I’ll hold my tongue… for now 😉

      • Audrey
        January 26, 2014

        Recipe is easy. 🙂 Make super thin patty of ground venison, fill center with blue cheese, top with another super thin patty, press edges down, season with sea salt and pepper, and cook in skillet or grill to desires doneness. Do it!! So good!

      • storiesbywilliams
        January 26, 2014

        Done! Just let me see if I can find a local source of venison that doesn’t involve accidentally hitting a deer with my car, and we’ll be in business. 🙂

  2. sunshinebright
    January 25, 2014

    Enjoyed your trip with family. Learned some things I never knew about our great country. Thanks for that, and thanks for writing with such great flow. 🙂

    • Audrey
      January 26, 2014

      Thank you for stopping by! It’s amazing how many landmarks there are in each region of the country, aren’t there? I hope we have enough time to see all of the ones I’ve been researching! Thank you!!

  3. Ariel
    January 26, 2014

    That is so awesome, I hope you have a blast! 🙂

    • Audrey
      January 26, 2014

      Thanks, Amiga! We’re stoked, it’s going to be a grand time. 🙂

  4. I can’t wait to read all about your adventures, Audrey! I’d love to tour the south someday. I stopped in Atlanta once, but I didn’t get farther than the airport. Be sure to get some peach cobbler for me. 🙂

  5. betunada
    January 28, 2014

    didja take all those pixures? wear da heck izzat cave?! (i presume thatsa cave). you’ll have vizzididdliated all the states before long, eh?

    • Audrey
      January 28, 2014

      No, they’re not my photos but I’ll be sure to take a bunch on our trip to show everyone. The cave is Mammoth Cave that we’re hoping to see when we’re in Kentucky. 🙂

  6. LAMarcom
    April 3, 2014

    Great post Audrey.

    As a Navy Vet and having spent time in Iraq and Afghanistan I appreciate the service of your brothers and the well-deserved recognition you give them.

    Cheers,
    Lance

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2014 by in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
