Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Bucket List for 2014

“Either write something worth doing or do something worth writing about.”

~ Ben Franklin

That’s my 2014 resolution in a nutshell. I’m going against the grain here: I love goal setting and I love lists. Last New Year I wrote down several things that I wanted to check off of my bucket list for 2013 and it was empowering to accomplish those things. Some of those goals changed and morphed as the year went on, some goals will just carry into this year. Let’s not be militaristic about this thing, eh?

It was seriously awesome to go to my first NFL game last year (GO HAWKS), to finally see the Grand Canyon, and to visit my mom in Alaska. My cookbook is started but still in the works. Rather than get out of debt I put myself in even more by buying a house, but it’s a bigger dream realized that I could have hoped for. I got a new position at work that I love in Purchasing. And I didn’t see it coming back in January 2013, but I married the love of my life last month. The year had it’s hiccups and bumps in the road, but it was better than I could have dreamed of.

My plan for 2014 is that whatever it may hold, that it will be adventurous, inspiring, bring life and joy to others. As far as this blog goes, I want it to be a year of doing things worth writing about and worth reading.

So for 2014, here’s my bucket list:

  • Save up for J and I to visit my dad and g’ma in MS, my brother and his fam in KY, and my aunts in GA (with a pit stop to New Orleans).
  • Pay off that credit card.
  • Get involved in tracking down an ethical supply chain for all the raw materials used at my work.
  • Summit Mount Baker
  • Blog weekly.
  • Organize a successful 5k run to benefit Engedi Refuge (a local safe house for human trafficking victims).
  • Finish my cookbook.
  • Help J with home improvement projects in the Spring/Summer – painting the house, staining the fence, pressure washing all the things!
  • Start (and maintain) my own garden.
  • MANY summer camping trips with my hubby and puppy – to Winchester Mtn, Olympic Peninsula, and San Juan Islands.
  • Read 100 books.
  • Take Cobalt for walks daily.

So there it is, out there for the world to see. Happy New Year!

What dreams are you going to accomplish it 2014?

6 comments on “A Bucket List for 2014

  1. betunada
    January 6, 2014

    ¡ bueno suerte ! (y advocate del diablo aquì: you will never pay off that credit card …)

    • Audrey
      January 6, 2014

      Haha, I’m still hopeful! It’s getting closer, a wedding slowed some of my forward momentum but give it a few months and I’ll be free as a bird again. 🙂

  2. Silvia Reed
    January 8, 2014

    Way to go girl, I love to see you’ve accomplished your 2013 goals and see that you’ve reached even higher goals that you planned for. You’ll pay off your credit card, I’m sure of that.

  3. storiesbywilliams
    January 16, 2014

    Climb Mt. Baker? I can see it from where I live and it looks MIGHTY tall!

    • Audrey
      January 17, 2014

      I forget how close we are. Heck, we’re practically neighbors! I think Baker is just under 11k feet, definitely a decent climb so we have to start training soon.

  4. Pingback: Georgia On My Mind (and Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee, Alabama…) | Dangerously Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2014 by in Adventure, Changing the World, Dreams and tagged , , , .
