Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Changing Seasons

This summer is just flying by! And I realized that it’s been over a month since my last visit to blogland. Where, oh where did the time go? And here we’re mid-way through August at that!

I’ve really missed reading all of your posts, chatting back and forth, and just being in the general loop with all my blog friends. You guys have been on my mind and heart, most definitely.

The other day I realized that life has shifted so much in the last few months and consequently so have my priorities. J and I decided to shut off the internet and cable for the summer so that’s played a major role in my absence from the interwebs. Becoming a new homeowner has exposed me to the joys and frustrations of keeping up a house. Weekends are full of home improvement projects these days and it’s a new world for me so I shadow J and try to learn the ropes of it all. Our Las Vegas wedding is a short 3 months away and I’m so excited! We’re down to the last few planning details for our ceremony and honeymoon. I’m turning into a giddy bride-to-be! Last week we were in Dutch Harbor, Alaska visiting my mom and helping her with her move back here to Washington. And next month I’m organizing a 5k fun run to benefit the safe house I work with. Life is full.

With all of this going on, my priorities have been less focused on my writing, less on my personal hobbies. With a home now, I’m learning to prepare for the winter storms ahead by repairing what’s been broken and damaged. And with a wedding around the corner my energy is directed towards building up my relationship with J even more so we have that strong foundation to weather those life storms that come up.

It’s a shift I didn’t quite expect this year and I think it’s just one of those seasons in life that is full, busy, and future-focused. As autumn approaches and we turn that internet back on, I see myself curled up with a hot cup of coffee, the pup warming my feet, and my laptop spread before me once again.

I’ll be back, guys! 🙂

5 comments on “Changing Seasons

  1. betunada
    August 20, 2013

    don’t hurry! (you didn’t miss much. of course, WE missed you!)

  2. Denise Hisey
    August 23, 2013

    It’s hard keeping up with the blog world when we’ve had such an incredible summer here in the NW isn’t it?
    I’ve been on a hiatus of my, own! Just now tiptoeing back a bit 🙂

  3. storiesbywilliams
    August 25, 2013

    Sounds like fun. And while I too would say don’t rush, and enjoy this nice pre-wedding period, it is good to know you’ll be back eventually. I have zombie related story work that desperately needs your input. I finished book II and now I’m actively putting up chapters for book III. I never realized how dependent I was on that regular dose of positive reinforcement you provided;)

  4. Chicken Nuggets and Elmo
    September 26, 2013

    I understand about being absent from the blog-o-sphere! It’s easy to do when life is busy and full. Hope you are well.

  5. betunada
    November 11, 2013

    “ferris? … ferris?” yeah, i realize yer purreedee bizzy what with the wedding and recent (?) house moving, etc. at least i check in ya’ over at FB !

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2013 by in Summer, Writing.
