Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

#3 – The Argument For Ethical Consumption

This article by Stop The Traffik (an anti-human trafficking organization based in the UK) flashed across my Facebook newsfeed this morning and I had to share. Funny thing is that ethical consumption has been a topic on my mind for the past few days.

Most of my friends know I’m a bit of a clothes monger and shoe addict. Fashion is a creative outlet for me and clothes become art. But more and more I’m convinced that to be a modern day abolitionist is more than just volunteering at the safe house I help with. It’s more than buying fairtrade coffee and chocolate. It’s more than wearing conflict-free diamonds on my finger. It’s going to have to represent those daily choices on how I spend my money.

There’s a great project called Free2Work that assess major retailers for labor abuses, worker’s rights, anything that can indicate if the products were produced under potential abusive situations. Lack of worker’s rights allows for the possibility of slave labor, child labor, and indentured agreements. They even look at working conditions, safety, etc.

Free2Work gives each company a grade based on this assessment and it’s been a handy tool for me as I look to purchase ethical products now. I know a lot of us are on tight budget. Heck, I just bought a home so I’m not exactly rolling in dough here! The cool thing is that ethical products don’t necessarily have to cost more. Gap and its subsidiaries all have an B grading from Free2Work. Hanes got an A. Skechers got a D grade. It’s an easy choice that can make a huge difference in so many lives.

So please read this, friends. Then check out Free2Work and find out how you can help!

STOP THE TRAFFIK Blog

In this series we’ve looked at a couple of arguments for being an ethically conscious consumer. Since this is my last day as Comms Intern and this is a subject close to my heart, I’ll return to it today, and address another common objection to consumer choice.

 

It’s not our problem

Where to start with this one? The reason that STOP THE TRAFFIK supports certification by organisations such as Fairtrade, Rainforest Alliance and UTZ is that it provides an important first step towards guaranteed traffik-free goods. In other words, we are moving into a world where people are not forced from their families and into farms, potentially suffering all manner of abuse.

“But wait!” you might say. “I don’t live in Côte d’Ivoire. I’ve never met this hypothetical person. They don’t affect my life in ways I notice.”

Yes and no. Look at what you wear. Look at what…

View original post 409 more words

4 comments on “#3 – The Argument For Ethical Consumption

  1. storiesbywilliams
    August 5, 2013

    Wow, I just saw this, and it seems like its over a month old at this point. Damn notification settings! So how is your summer going? Is the high drama compete and the new digs treating you and the family well?

    • storiesbywilliams
      August 8, 2013

      Doh! That should say “complete”. High drama compete doesn’t make a lick of sense!

    • Audrey
      August 16, 2013

      Well hello! Clearly I’m not responding in a very timely manner either. Summer is good, busy and very full. We’re still going without internet or cable for the summer so I’m a little detatched from the blogworld but I’m sure I’ll get back into in come autumn. 🙂 We’re busy with moving my mom to Washington from Alaska, home improvement projects before the weather goes to crap, and a slew of other to dos but life is good! How are the books coming along? I can’t wait to be able to sit down and read them!! So so excited for you with getting them out to Amazon. And how is your summer going??

      • storiesbywilliams
        August 16, 2013

        Wow, that sounds like quite the crowded itinerary. Hope it all goes well and is as stress-free as possible. As for me, summer is good, got a little burnt and sun-stroked from being out in the record-setting heat, but can’t complain too much. Just starting work on book 3, book 2 is still in editing, and book 1 is starting to slow down in sales. But I did break 1360 not too long ago, so again, can’t complain. Really hoping to get 2 and 3 out in a timely manner, but making the third book is proving hard!

        Take care and look forward to hearing from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2013 by in Changing the World, Dreams, Human Trafficking.
