Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Home Is Wherever I’m With You

The new home has closed! The move is complete!

It’s been way too long since I’ve managed to drag my butt over to WordPress. I’ve missed you guys! And now we can celebrate!! The past few weeks have been an emotional roller coaster of signing papers, receiving keys to my new home, being told I couldn’t move in yet because of a bank error, rescheduling moving trucks and movers (i.e. friends) and other such craziness. But at long last, on Saturday we made the move into a beautiful new home with my name on the title. I’m so relieved, and euphoric… and tired. So let’s party like it’s NAPTIME! 🙂

IMG_0118

The move went smoothly enough after the chaos of waiting for the house to close. We had some amazing friends and my mom (YAY!) come out to help J and I load up the 17 foot Uhaul. I’m so grateful that one of J’s buddies brought over his flatbed truck and trailer. We needed the extra space! And here I thought the Uhaul was way too big for our few (ha!) worldly possessions. Silly things like J’s toolboxes and workbench totally didn’t fit into my equation. We got everything moved to the new house in one trip, supplied pizza and beer to our movers, and started cleaning the old house for renting it out at the end of the month.

IMG_0119

Cobalt has settled into his new surroundings more quickly then either of his human counterparts. He’s already cozily napping on his bed in the new living room, frolicking around the big backyard with happy growls and yips, and digging into his meals with renewed vigor. When we first started packing up boxes the poor little guy stopped eating, acted all nervous, and would follow us around the old house at our heels as if we would leave him behind. That’s all forgotten like a bad dream now, thankfully! He doesn’t even seem to consider the old house to be his home anymore.

IMG_0120

We were out at the old place giving the walls a fresh coat of paint yesterday and the pup managed to brush his side against a wet wall, nosed my paintbrush, and wagged his tail against another wet wall. We even found yellow paint on his ears. But for the most part he just lazed around waiting for us to pack up and head back “home”. And when we got to the new place he was only too happy to go careening through the hardwood floor hallways with a click of his claws and no friction to slow him down. He definitely knows where his new home is now.

IMG_0122

As for J and I? We couldn’t be more happy with our new space! It’s a little bigger with room for us to grow into when we are ready to build up our little family. It’s closer to my work, which means I can start cycling again. J loves the safer, quieter neighborhood. And we both are thrilled to enjoy this new place together. We’re tired, the work isn’t done, but we’re home.

Cobalt’s got it all figured out. It’s not about four walls and a roof. Home really is wherever your loved ones are.

17 comments on “Home Is Wherever I’m With You

  1. Silvia
    June 24, 2013

    I’m so happy for you Audrey. Congratulations on your new home and the new season you’re starting.

    • Audrey
      June 25, 2013

      Thank you, Silvia! I’ll have to have you over to the new digs soon. 🙂 Another ladies’ night at my place is in order!

  2. Vanessa
    June 24, 2013

    Home definitely is where the heart is! I am so, so happy for all three of you. What an amazing adventure to be embarking on, and so nice that you had a relatively easy move with great helpers. 🙂

    Cobalt is hilarious in all of those photos. He totally looks like he’s overseeing the entire operation!

    Yay for new homes! xx

    • Audrey
      June 25, 2013

      Thank you so much, Amiga! We’re feeling the stress melt away now that we’re in our new space. 🙂 We’re out at Birch Bay so if you want to get away for some sand and grilling time, let me know!!

      Cobalt was nigh unto neurotic at times and I thought the guys might squish him since he was underfoot so much, but he survived! The little scamp… 😉

  3. captainariel
    June 24, 2013

    Congratulations, big sis! I’m so happy for you. You deserve the best, and it looks like you got it 😀
    I Love You<3 and hope to see your place someday haha. Take care and tell J I said 'hi' :).

    • Audrey
      June 25, 2013

      Aw, thanks, Sweets! It’s a great place, for sure – just a hop and a skip from the sea and sand. I’ll tell J!

  4. storiesbywilliams
    June 24, 2013

    Are those white patches I see on the side of him the aforementioned paint? Also, that sounds like quite the runaround the bastards at your financial institution gave ya! Moving is hard enough without them making “bank errors” that are not in your favor! Question, how many hours did it take? My wife and I did our last move in 13, and that was the second time that year we were forced to move. Hence why we haven’t moved from our current place for three whole years. Trauma!

    Oh, and does this mean we can expect to see more of you know (blink, blink, blink)?

    • Audrey
      June 25, 2013

      His coloring hides the paint pretty well but if you see the splotches of almond yellow on his shoulder, that’s where he got most of it. Pups will be pups, right? 🙂
      Oh man, that bank stuff had me all stressed! I had canker sores in my mouth, acne on my face… And now that we’re moved in, it’s all miraculously going away!
      It took us 5 hours to load the truck, drive the 30+ minutes to the new place, and unload. Not bad at all! 13 hours sounds like such a long day and trauma is definitely the word I’d use. No wonder you two want to stay put for a while!
      I really hope I can be around a bit more! We are shutting off internet and cable for the summer – motivation to go play outside and all that – but I might be able to get on here at least once a week so read all the good stuff and say hello! 🙂

      • storiesbywilliams
        June 25, 2013

        Okay… is there also the matter of impending nuptials, or did you guys tie the knot already? Also, Whiskey Delta is out in ebook and paperback, if I didn’t already tell you incessantly. Papa Zulu will be added to that list shortly, just need to get the editing done. And the third installment, Oscar Mike has a few chapters done, all of which are posted. If and when you got time, feel free to check it out! Ignore the rest of my posts, this is all I really need help with 😉

      • Audrey
        June 25, 2013

        That’s why I’m trying not to over-promise my internet presence… Wedding is t-minus 5 months. Destination: Las Vegas! Since it’s coming up so fast and we have the distance to factor in, I know it will take up a good bit of my time yet. That and I’m volunteering even more with my anti-human trafficking groups lately – the safe house is open and I work with the girls at least twice a week in addition to fundraisers and event planning. So my writing projects are on a temporary hiatus for the time being.
        But yes, I’m so excited to see what you’ve been up to with the series!! I’ll have to start slowly poking away at reading it all. And congrats on getting WD published! I’m so excited and happy for you. It’s taking off… 🙂

      • storiesbywilliams
        June 25, 2013

        Wow, that sounds like a full itinerary. Not sure what I can promise, being a couple hundred kilometers away, but if there’s anything I can do to lighten your research and work burden, I shall try! And yes, things are moving. As of this writing, Whiskey Delta has sold just over 1250 copies. So fingers crossed!

  5. Katrina Anne Willis
    June 24, 2013

    Congratulations!! 🙂

    • Audrey
      June 25, 2013

      Thank you, thank you! We’re so excited!!

  6. betunada
    June 25, 2013

    hmm. parallel lives, in a few ways. betty had our house painted recently and the cats, mostly, had souvenirs of the paint job on their fur. we helped our son (and his best friend) move just this past weekend!
    is your new house somewhat close to the previous?

    • Audrey
      June 25, 2013

      Too funny! Although painted cats (we’re talking multiples, right?) seems like even more of a challenge. I’m impressed! How did the move go for your son?

      Yes, we’re still in the same county, just moved from the east end (near the Cascade foothills) to the west end (almost to the shores of Puget Sound). It’s only a distance of 25 miles but definitely makes a difference for my commute to work. 🙂

  7. whatimeant2say
    June 25, 2013

    Congratulations! The new place sounds wonderful!

  8. Great use of a great song lyric!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2013 by in Adventure, Dreams, Family, Fun, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
