Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Place To Call Home

Agh! Time has gotten away from me once again. I don’t know how this happens… The days are at once getting shorter from sheer busyness and longer as we plunge closer to sweet summer-time. I’m long over-due to visit your blogs and respond to your comments, and for that, I sincerely apologize. Give me a moment here and I’ll stop over in a bit!

My internet time over the past few weeks has been spent wading through online bank statements and scrolling through so many house listing that my eyes glaze over just thinking about it. It’s not all that dreary, but it’s an awful lot of data for my little brain to take in. Especially considering my lack of ability in the mathematical realms. Give me foreign languages aplenty and I’m the happiest of clams, but throw a few numbers at me and the world becomes a confusing place. The good news? I’m pre-approved for a home loan! It’s an amount I can certainly work with and budget around and having that number as my cap makes searching for a home a little less daunting. J and I hope to check out potential abodes this weekend so I’ll keep you all posted!

tulips2

Spring has sprung in the Pacific Northwest so my road bike and I are back on the road. These days I live too far from work to make that commute feasible on a bike. But J and I are heading out almost every sunny day for an hour after work to catch some rays and knock out the miles. That’s taken a hit on my internet time too but I’m not even sorry a little bit! It’s been so revitalizing and peaceful to enjoy the road from the saddle of my bike again.

tulips

J and I visited the Mount Vernon Tulip Festival last weekend between Sunday morning church service and heading to a friend’s beautiful afternoon wedding reception. The flowers are gorgeous, the colors are brilliant, and it made for a great photo op. Some friends came down to enjoy the blooms with us and it was a fun time to catch up with them.

tulips

Cobalt, our little blue heeler pup, is 9 months old now and weighing in at almost 50 lbs. And he still thinks the best place for him is on my lap. He hasn’t departed from his destructive ways but playing fetch with him everyday has helped corral his rambunctious energy most of the time. We have more hikes on the itinerary as the trails dry out and I’m sure he’ll be raring to go.

My goal of writing a cookbook this year is slowly, slowly coming to fruition. That also has taken up a good chunk of my internet time these days. It’s exciting to see this idea taking life on and it’s become a bit of an attachment for me. Dinners I make are taking on a new significance with the possibility that some new recipe might make the cut and be added to the book.

The local safe house I’m working with (for women coming out of sex exploitation) is getting their first resident today! I’ve been helping them out with fundraisers lately, looking for furniture for the house, and stocking their pantry with foodstuffs. Things are busy on that front and it’s exciting to see it all coming together. I’m also speaking at a women’s’ conference next month (wish me luck!) urging local ladies to get involved with ending human trafficking in our community. Raising awareness of trafficking is huge but when people are ready to rise up and help end it, that’s earth-shattering! I saw a stats report the other day for Whatcom County (where I live) that has identified at least 30 girls and 7 boys that have been sexually exploited in the area. They’re ages 13 – 21 years old and have participated in sex for some form of payment whether they are part of a multi-state prostitution ring or engaging in survival sex. It’s a huge problem but I hope I can encourage these ladies and candidly share the need when I speak next month.

That’s about the latest for me. I’ll be stopping by your blogs to say hello and will “see” you guys soon!

5 comments on “A Place To Call Home

  1. Vanessa
    April 24, 2013

    Yay! So happy to hear this great news about potential home ownership! We looked at sooooo many places before buying our current home. Don’t get discouraged! When you know it, you know it, and it will be perfect!

    That is also so exciting about your cookbook. I cannot wait to see what recipes make the cut. And so fab to hear about your speaking engagements and the world you’re doing with the safe house. You’re changing the world, everyday! x

  2. captainariel
    April 24, 2013

    Audrey – you’re my hero :). I’m very happy for you

  3. Denise Hisey
    April 24, 2013

    Wow! You are always so busy…I admire your passion to help women get out of sex trafficking. I read recently that Washington has one of the highest percentages of trafficking. What a hideous statistic to be known for.

  4. betunada
    April 29, 2013

    hay, yerrr one uv my heroes too! my (our) son is undergoing the house-buying “thing” right now also. ALL THOSE BRIGHT AND COLOURFULL TULIPS! and the road beckons to me and the bike too. Betty is doin’ the swim, and i the bike ‘n run in our local low-key TRI in little over a month, so i better RAMP up (yahoo) !

  5. storiesbywilliams
    May 6, 2013

    Alright, good to see you back in action! And best of luck, I hope the new center does alright and I will certainly pledge a donation once I get my damn royalties check! Speaking of which, I wonder if I could trouble you for a review (blink, blink)…?

Leave a Reply

