Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Little Behind

It’s funny how perspective and focus can change so quickly. Some of you have mentioned my lack of blog presence over the past few weeks. And honestly, it’s not you, it’s me. It’s life. Life has been busy and full in all the right ways. I noticed that the same thing happened last year when the sun came out more and summer days approached. My desire to tap away at my keyboard and pour out my heart into posts was superseded by my desire to be out there living great adventures.

IMG_2074IMG_2050

My mom visited for a week and a half from Alaska and that was the best of distractions. J and I took her to the nearby cities of La Connor and Anacortes for some delicious eats on the wharf and a glorious hike along Puget Sound coastline.IMG_2092

The safe house for victims of sexual exploitation that I’ve been working with is ready to get underway next week so that’s kept me busy with prepping, training, and acquiring furniture for the house. And I’ll be teaching a yoga class to the lovely ladies twice a week as of May!

And then Easter was upon us with more perfect weather, Easter Sunday service with my love, a wander down to my favorite boardwalk with the puppy, and mimosas on the back patio.

IMG_2143

And now? Now Mr. J and I are talking in earnest about purchasing a family home. I qualify as a first time home buyer (J already owns a duplex) so I’m hoping to chat with a loan officer next week. Crazy, yes? J has already scoped out some homes on a sprawling bit of acreage in the country and I’m starting to have visions of planting my own vegetable garden this time next year.

After we get a new house all squared away, J and I want to tie the knot. Yes, yes, you keep your “Sitting In A Tree” rhyme to yourself! 😉 Now, don’t get too excited, he hasn’t come out with a ring just yet. But we’re both planner types and we’re planning on a short engagement when the engagement does happen, followed by an intimate ceremony attended by immediate family and a backyard reception bash with all of our friends. While we’re both fans of easy-going and casual for this, it will still be a lot of work in a short amount of time to make our schemes happen.

With all of this going on, my internet time has been consumed with learning wedding etiquette, researching vendors in my area, finding tips for DIY (Do It Yourself) weddings on a tiny budget (we will have just bought a house, after all), looking at property listings, chatting with real estate agents, and re-acquainting myself with basic yoga techniques for my soon-to-be-students. So there you have it: Between the lovely spring weather we’re having in my corner of Washington and planning some major events in the near future, I’ve neglected this poor blog. I’ll try to be better about posting more frequently and keeping everyone up to speed. Really, I will!

Thanks for sticking around guys. I’ve missed you all!

17 comments on “A Little Behind

  1. captainariel
    April 3, 2013

    OMG! I’m glad you’re doing so well! 😀 so so happy for you..hope to see you both again in the near future 🙂 ❤

  2. Curly Carly
    April 3, 2013

    Wow, you’ve been busy! Glad to see you back! And congrats on your [upcoming] engagement 🙂

    • Audrey
      April 24, 2013

      Thank you, thank you! It’s been a whirlwind of a month but we’re loving it. I have to stop by your space to see what you’ve been up to. 🙂

  3. Silvia Reed
    April 3, 2013

    I’m so happy for you Audrey. I love to hear that you and J will be starting a new family soon. That’s just wonderful my friend.

    • Audrey
      April 24, 2013

      Thank you, Silvia! It was so so good to see you on Sunday. Have missed you so much and am glad you’re back. We will plan that date to catch up soon!

  4. storiesbywilliams
    April 3, 2013

    I should say you have been noticeably quiet. But I just assumed you were off on one of your adventures of some such thing. I have urgent posts which you must consider. You simply must, I say!

    • Audrey
      April 24, 2013

      Ah! I’m so behind on reading your posts and don’t even know where to start. Suggestions???

  5. betunada
    April 3, 2013

    (good) … SHEEEZ BA A A ACK (!)

  6. Tori Nelson
    April 4, 2013

    I’m having the same blog vs. living life debacle right now, too. I figure the more adventures you are busy with now, the more to write about later!

    • Audrey
      April 24, 2013

      When it comes down to it the choice is pretty easy, isn’t it? 🙂 And you’re so right, all those adventures make for some great writing material after the fact!

  7. Denise Hisey
    April 6, 2013

    Congrats on so much excitement at your house! 😉
    Looking foreward to hearing more updates!

    • Audrey
      April 24, 2013

      Thank you, Denise! It’s crazy that so much is happening at once but it really is so fun and exciting. 🙂 I’ll be over to say hello soon!

  8. storiesbywilliams
    April 12, 2013

    Hey, Audrey. Guess what? Whiskey Delta just got back from the presses and it’s up on Amazon! Could I… ahem, trouble you for a review (blink, blink)? 🙂

    • betunada
      April 13, 2013

      no. i’ll send you “sierra moreno cortitas” — by axual snail mail, an autographt copy, instead.

    • Audrey
      April 24, 2013

      Oooooh! Way to go! I’ve never reviewed anything on Amazon before but I’m willing to give it a go. 🙂

      • storiesbywilliams
        April 24, 2013

        There she is! Wow, I was wondering what became of you, and even if I offended you somehow… I’m not insecure, who said that??? 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2013 by in Adventure, Changing the World, Dreams, Family, Fun, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
