Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Beer Cheeseburger Potato Soup

The unthinkable has been accomplished, all of my man’s favorite food groups have been combined into an epic and tasty soup! Okay, it doesn’t have bacon so I guess not all of J’s favorite foods are in here. But ya’ll know my Mr. is a meat and potatoes and beer kind of guy. So when I announced my intent to whip up this soup, he was all over. Heck, I was all over it too! Cheese? Yes please! It’s not a hard meal to prep, just needs enough time to properly simmer away and blend those great flavors. And the benefits? There are plenty of veggies in here. It can be made gluten-free. And if you nix the hamburger, you vegetarian folks have got a lip-smacking beer cheese soup. Let’s dig in.

What you need:

  • 1 tbsp cooking oil
  • 1 lbs ground beef
  • 1 yellow onion – chopped
  • 3 carrots – chopped
  • 3 stalks celery – chopped
  • 4 medium red potatoes – cut into 1/2″ cubes
  • 1 12oz bottle pale ale
  • 2 c. chicken broth
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • sea salt to taste
  • pepper to taste
  • 1/4 c. flour (I used a gluten-free all purpose flour)
  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 1 c milk
  • 2 c. cheddar cheese – shredded

What you do:

In a stock pot over medium heat brown the ground beef with cooking oil. Add in onions, carrots, and celery and cook until tender. Mix in beer, broth, spices, and potatoes. Bring the broth to a boil then reduce to a simmer. Let simmer for 10 – 15 minutes or until potatoes soften.

In a small bowl combine hot, melted butter and flour and whisk. Add in milk and mix in.

When potatoes are tender, add in the milk mixture and bring to a boil. Reduce back to a simmer for 3 minutes and allow to thicken. Add in cheese one handful at a time, mixing until it melts into the soup completely.

Let the soup simmer for a few more minutes. Remove from heat and dish into bowls. Enjoy with a cold one!

20130319-202447.jpg

18 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Beer Cheeseburger Potato Soup

  1. Robyn B.
    March 19, 2013

    I’m all in for this one— gluten free beer as well as GF flour. sounds divine!!!

  2. Vanessa Woznow
    March 20, 2013

    I – I don’t even know what to say about this! You are truly a culinary superstar. x

  3. storiesbywilliams
    March 20, 2013

    Holy crap, so many of the things I love! Any ideas on beer pairing? 😉

    • betunada
      March 21, 2013

      another IPA i would suspect …

      • storiesbywilliams
        March 21, 2013

        You’d think, but stews and hearty soups are difficult to pair. Audrey, might I recommend an auburn ale or an Irish Red? Man, I am such a snob!

      • betunada
        March 21, 2013

        R U kidding? i just tried a chocolate stout, and
        (or, are you familiar with Victory’s Storm King or Northern coast’s Old Rasputin?)

      • storiesbywilliams
        March 21, 2013

        Old Raputin, yes. And funny you should mention that, I was thinking a smooth stout might work too.

      • betunada
        March 21, 2013

        when a smooth stout “doesn’t work” i know i really am in trubbul …

      • Audrey
        March 21, 2013

        Oh but we wouldn’t have you an anything less than a beer snob! 🙂 I’m like that with wine so you’re in good company. Again, keep me posted on how the pairings work out, I’m really curious now!

      • Audrey
        March 21, 2013

        Goodness I’m so behind on comments! Oooooh! I’m not usually a fan of IPAs but it could work for this. Are you trying it out? 🙂

      • betunada
        March 21, 2013

        i “do” so many IPA’s… and you know the ‘reason’ for and why IPAs were made?
        see my snobby comment to snobby WM: i think a stout stout would do!

      • storiesbywilliams
        March 21, 2013

        Why thank you, Audrey. Of course, I have to keep in mind access, since most of what I am familiar with south of the Washington-BC border is a little vague. But Betunada has got the right of it. Rogue’s Chocolate Stout is damn good, in my books, and a perfect example of a smooth stout. The key is avoiding anything too bitter and coffee-like, as this will probably conflict with the meaty, smokey, creamy nature of the soup.

    • Audrey
      March 21, 2013

      I used a Guinness Extra Stout and it blended amazingly with the Colby Jack cheese I used. I’ve heard that pale ales tend to work well too but I still have to taste that theory… If you try something that works, let me know!

      • storiesbywilliams
        March 25, 2013

        Oh yes, Guinness has been known to blend very well with cheese. Which is partly why I think certain types of Irish cheddar call for it in the recipe. Oh hunger pangs now!

  4. betunada
    March 21, 2013

    it is really very diffyoccult to “beat” (or ‘better’) a frashly prest guinness fresh off the tap!

  5. Vodka&Cupcakes
    May 29, 2013

    I made something similar to this recipe and it was AMAZING! Definitely will have to try again with the beer 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2013 by in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , .
