Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

The Joys of Sunshine and Big Sticks

The 60th (combined 30th) Birthday Bash that J and I hosted over the weekend was a huge success!

The glorious sun shone it’s happy face on Saturday and between cleaning the house, catching up on yard work, and J whipping up four slow cookers worth of his famous chili, we also got to play outside with the puppy! Little Cobalt reveled in the sunshine, found the biggest stick in the front yard, and was tearing around in circles like a monkey chasing a weasel. This hilarious photo is my proof that our wee pup is bonkers.

Cobalt

Our party goers arrived for dinner, there was much laughter, games, and the joy of great friends gathering together. Our friends E and C brought their labradoodle pup, Opie, and the dogs had a rip-roaring time playing together. Sunday put me in recovering mode from a late night of playing hostess, wherein I slept late into the morning and cleaned up the remnants of our fun evening. We have tons of left over chili so I’m trying some new recipes to change things up. Last night I made up some tasty chili mac and my man was very happy!

Chili Mac

And today, that Daylight Savings business is taking it’s toll so I’ll keep this post short and continue guzzling my coffee. I hope you all had a lovely weekend and on to a great week!

8 comments on “The Joys of Sunshine and Big Sticks

  1. Vanessa Woznow
    March 11, 2013

    I honestly don’t even know how Cobalt exists! He is too hilarious for words. Seriously, he is a cartoon in that photo. It’s amazing!

    So glad to hear that the b-day bash was a resounding success. You are totes the hostess with the mostess, and you most definitely deserve a nice long rest to recharge your batteries! Daylight savings can sure knock one for a loop.

    Best, best wishes for a brilliant week my darling! x

    • Audrey
      March 13, 2013

      Isn’t he hilarious! The little dork was honest-to-goodness running circles in the yard with that stick and taunting me to chase him each time he raced past. Made my day laughing at him!

      I’m honestly still recovering, and so is my kitchen. But we’d host again in a heartbeat! It was such a good time. I bet the daylight savings stuff is probably throwing you off a bit too since you’ve been so tired lately.

      Here’s to both of us getting rested this week and on to weekend adventures!

  2. Worrywart
    March 11, 2013

    Oh my gosh, we made chili for our big party (of almost 60 somethings) on Saturday, too. Still eating it for lunch today. You know what they say about great minds!

    • Audrey
      March 12, 2013

      Too funny! Chili is the perfect dish for big groups like that, isn’t it? I have 2 crock pots left so I might end up freezing some of it for later. At this point I don’t think I can stand the sight of beans…

  3. Denise Hisey
    March 11, 2013

    Your pix of Cobalt remind me that I want to introduce my ‘grandpuppy’ Jessie on my blog one day soon!
    She is also quite adorable!
    PS: Happy Birthday!

    • Audrey
      March 12, 2013

      Oh, please do! We’d love to meet the little gal!! 🙂 My mama finally gets to meet her grandpuppy next week, she’s coming to visit from Dutch Harbor for a little and I’m so excited to have her.

      And thank you, the guys had a great birthday celebration. 🙂

  4. storiesbywilliams
    March 12, 2013

    Handsome dog, handsome eats. Seems like a good life!

    • Audrey
      March 13, 2013

      It was such a great weekend! I realize more and more that life really is going to be what we make it so J and I are trying to make it full of good memories, loved ones, and fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2013 by in Adventure, Food, Friends, Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
