Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

The Domesticated Adventurer

How do you balance the crazy, fun adventures with the practical needs of keeping house and home? Come the weekend and this becomes my conflict. It doesn’t always work out as planned. Sometimes the dishes have to wait for another day because the great outdoors beckons and other days the chore list makes me give up my grand plans to explore. But I enjoy blending these seemingly contrast spheres in my life.

Next weekend we host a duel 30th birthday party for two of J’s good buddies – we’re calling it a 60th birthday bash. J and I are scrambling to figure out how to park, feed, and sleep 20+ people in a very cozy space. Needless to say, this past weekend was full of planning for all of it. There was the weekly grocery store run to make, the cooking and meal planning for the week, and much deep cleaning of the house and yard was necessary.

But through it all we still found time to goof off in the best of ways:

Cobalt “helped” J with some yard work.

IMG_1933

On Saturday evening J and I met with some friends for brews and eats at once of my favoritest spots in Bellingham, Boundary Bay Brewery. Their gluten-free barbecue pulled pork pizza sets my heart a-pounding!

IMG_1935 On Sunday, after performing my duties of deep cleaning the “galley”, moving around the piles of laundry, and otherwise making myself appear less slatternly, Cobalt and I left J to clean his garage. We hopped in the Jeep, rolled down the windows, blasted the tunes, and cranked up the heat. Off we went to the mountain home of my lovely friend, M. Cobalt and M’s gorgeous blue heeler, Keli, played fetch in the sunshine. Meanwhile M and I got to catch up on life and she regaled me with the plans for her upcoming summer wedding. Oh, and Cobalt tried to climb through a cat-door, to no avail. Exhibit A:

IMG_1939

Then it was back to hearth and home for a relaxing evening with my main men. Mister J was hankering for some comfort food so I whipped up some tasty sloppy joes of a beef/Italian sausage variety, topped with homemade crispy onions and pepper jack cheese piled high on wheat bread for J and a corn tortilla for me!

IMG_1940So that was the weekend with it’s homely joys and fun outings. I love having these two seemingly separate focuses in my life for the balance they bring – a melding of stability and comfort with adventure and excitement!

11 comments on “The Domesticated Adventurer

  1. Worrywart
    March 4, 2013

    I have about 20 people coming over this upcoming Saturday, too (only we are all almost 60). I love to have friends over, and over the past 30 years I have had some very beautiful table settings and have have agonized over making it all perfect. However, my social life has come full circle – this weekend we’ll be back to paper plates and red cups (you know the ones you see littered around college campuses on Sunday morning). It has taken me 30 years to realize people don’t really care if the furniture is dusty or the dog’s fur is EVERYWHERE; they just want to spend time with each other. Can you tell I am writing this instead of cleaning the house? Have fun at your party, and always opt for adventure over the dirty dishes.

    • Audrey
      March 4, 2013

      Sounds like we’ll both have a weekend to remember! And thank you so much, your comment is already making me breath easier. I’d already resolved to go with keg cups and disposable dishware. But the little hostess in me is still learning to let go of that dream of the spotless house. You’re so right, it’s not going to be what really matters anyway. 🙂 So I’ll just enjoy my domestic-ness through the venue of cooking and call it a day, I suppose. Again, thank you for this perfect reminder of what’s important. Cheers to you and your 20+ friends and I’m sure the party will be wonderful!!

  2. betunada
    March 4, 2013

    well, YOU ARE AMbitious! as you just read about us hosting our 3 kids + one more dog. but, CORN TORTILLAs for me are like what bacon is to most everyone else — makes (almost) everything better!
    (unlike your friend worrywart, betty goes a bit nutz re: house cleaning! i had to scrub off cat-spray marks outside the house! come on, B, it’s OUTSIDE (but, no matter )

    • Audrey
      March 5, 2013

      Ambitious or crazy – it’s a toss up! But really it will be a great time and I’m excited to have everyone over. 🙂 Oh my goodness, yes! Corn tortillas are happiness itself. My mom’s side of the family has Hispanic roots so my comfort food is Mexican cuisine and somehow it sneaks into a lot of the food I make.
      Oh goodness, you poor thing! Us ladies can get a little excited about those kinds of things. My poor guy was put to work cleaning the garage, backyard, and front yard over the weekend so I’m sure he feels for ya!
      Are you guys done hosting now? Wasn’t sure when everyone was heading home.

  3. Curly Carly
    March 4, 2013

    Sounds like a great weekend! A balanced weekend is the best!

    • Audrey
      March 5, 2013

      It was great! And the balance part really makes a difference. Something about that sense of accomplishment and knowing the chores are done. 🙂 Did you and your puppy get up to any fun adventures?

      • Curly Carly
        March 5, 2013

        We did! We went to the dog park and surprise, surprise…I got peed on AGAIN (different dog this time). Oh, well, we still had fun 🙂

  4. ethelthedean
    March 4, 2013

    Such a great post – I identify with it entirely! It sounds like you had a truly fab weekend – glad you got both the practicalities sorted with plus some time with the pup and friends.

    And good grief Cobalt! That photo has me laughing like a loon. It’s just the best!!

    Happy Monday you beautiful gal – here’s to next weekend! x

    • Audrey
      March 5, 2013

      Oh yes, getting the real life stuff checked off the list and then going to play is the best feeling! I’m glad I’m not alone in this. It’s a funny thing to try to balance. 🙂

      We were laughing so hard at him. I texted that photo to J and he got a kick out of it too! I tell ya, that dog worries me sometimes… The more his personality comes out, the more we just have to shake our heads and laugh!

      The weekend… I think we’re feeling pretty ready! Thank you, thank you sweet lady!! 🙂

  5. Pingback: The Joys of Sunshine and Big Sticks | Dangerously Daydreaming

  6. storiesbywilliams
    March 12, 2013

    Boundary Bay? Not that’s a brewpub I would like to check it out if ever the wife and I do our little microbrewery tour!

Leave a Reply

