Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Silenced

Yesterday I disappeared. As an ever so small effort to honor the 27 million victims of slavery around the world and let their cry be heard, I removed my voice from social media on February 27th. The hope was that instead of drawing attention to whatever it was that I had to say, instead the focus would be on those who are enslaved.

fb_cover4

As an experiment on the side, I decided that I’d allow myself to continue being online but only as a silent entity. My voice would be removed. A friends’ Facebook status that I wanted to comment on? That blog post that pulled at my heartstrings or made me laugh and I wanted to talk more about? The sweet photo of my niece that my SIL posted and I wanted to “like”? My thoughts had to go unspoken.

And realistically, I know it’s not important in the scheme of things, there was no hardship or cruelty in it, but it was something that got me thinking about how it feels to be voiceless. If it affected me in a single day just in my online presence, I can’t even fathom how it has a hold on those who are truly silenced through slavery: unable to speak their thoughts, stand up for themselves, or even to express their basic needs.

fb_cover1

But today I have my voice and I will speak out, along with so many others.This road to freedom is going to be long and fraught with struggles, but I have hope. The fight will continue, justice will win, right will prevail. And it starts with those baby steps like gaining a new perspective on slavery, reaching out to the homeless, and helping those in need. It grows bit by bit as we make calls to rescue people being abused, we educate children to prevent their capture, we protect and help the victims. Today we speak out for the voiceless, we fight for the weak, we choose to end slavery.

I’ve had several people ask me how they can be involved with fighting human trafficking. Aside from the great folks at Stop The TraffikInternational Justice Mission is another great resource, and now there’s the End It Movement that has some of their own justice projects in the works in addition to working with coalition partners around the world. So wherever you are, you can get involved and make a difference! Let’s speak out for those who have been silenced.

END_IT_logo

*All images are courtesy of http://enditmovement.com/.

10 comments on “Silenced

  1. ethelthedean
    February 28, 2013

    So many people think that slavery is something of the past, when it is one of the most profitable (and destructive) industries, the world over.

    Dearest Audrey, thank you for shining a light on this problem, and for doing such important work. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

    • Audrey
      February 28, 2013

      You’re so right! It’s hard to think that in our “enlightened” society we would have such things as slavery running rampant. The further I get into aiding victims of sex trafficking, the more I’m realizing that prevention (through creating awareness) is one of the best ways to combat this thing – before the emotional and physical damage is done. After the fact, there’s just so much to overcome and the success rate is discouraging.
      Thank you so much for always being my cheering squad in this. I appreciate it so much.

  2. betunada
    February 28, 2013

    (ditto — to Ethel)
    it should shake all of us out of our complacency, our complacency of continual electronic gadgets, worrying about how we look or how or what people think of us, really: superficial stuff, to be reminded that there is perhaps half the planet who would LOOOOVE to have such silly problems!

    • Audrey
      February 28, 2013

      First world problems, right?! It certainly puts things into perspective. And I really hope that it rouses people to action. Even the smallest of things can help, like signing petitions asking major manufacturers to only sell ethically-made products. Those little actions have huge impact!

  3. thejoyrufus
    July 3, 2013

    I guess its a dying struggle or it’s my ignorance. I think the world is busy with other new issues and trying to solve them rather than deal with something that not everyone care about. I guess that’s the reason most of the problems are still going on.

    • Audrey
      July 3, 2013

      There are certainly a lot of problems out there. But I think part of the issue is that we get so absorbed with the little things like stressing about rush hour traffic or what to make for dinner tonight. It’s all about perspective and focus. Sure, those day-to-day concerns are important, but even in our daily choices we have opportunities to better the world for so many. The issue of human trafficking is growing, but so is awareness – thankfully! And I’m excited to see so many more people rising up against modern day slavery. It gives me hope!

      • thejoyrufus
        July 3, 2013

        Well, it depends on the number of good people left who are willing to make the change the and the rest who prefer not to bother. Do you think campaigning this way will bring about the necessary awareness to stop this modern day slavery?

      • thejoyrufus
        July 4, 2013

        yes if only people could take time and think, maybe there can be a change but will this online campaigning help?? I had not put much thought on this topic, never fully realized the extent of the situation, its petty serious. thank you for bringing this topic to light

      • Audrey
        August 16, 2013

        For me, the most redeeming quality of the online campaigns is that it can bring awareness. It may not create change necessarily, but it can at least plant a seed of consciousness so when the topic comes up elsewhere there’s already a basic understanding of the issues and possibly an interest in helping fix the problems. That’s my hope, anyway!

      • thejoyrufus
        July 4, 2013

        Sorry about the typo in the last reply I sent, my bad !!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2013 by in Changing the World, Dreams, Human Trafficking, Writing.
