Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Life Lessons from a Pup

Having a (not so wee) little blue heeler puppy in my life has been an adventure! I can hardly believe that Cobalt has been with us for almost 4 months. He’s a source of pure joy as we laugh at his puppy antics and also a source of pure frustration as his endless energy leads him down the path of destruction now and then.IMG_1778

IMG_1596We have survived the first few nights away from his doggy-mama and transitioning to a new home, the angst of teething, and we are still weathering the difficulties of his short attention span and propensity to dig giant holes in the yard. But he’s brought so much laughter as he somersaults all over the livingroom, cuddles up close to us in the evenings with love in his big brown eyes, his zeal to protect me and mine is a loyalty beyond my expectations, and I revel in his adventurous spirit to go out and explore the world.IMG_1737

I’ve learned a few things from this sweet little guy already:

  1. Greet your loved ones exuberantly. There’s no “hello” or “welcome home” more happy than that of a puppy. He’s ready with kisses, yips of excitement, and dancing like a silly thing.
  2. Play hard. Cobalt is either moving at the speed of light or out like a light. His energy and excitement is catching and it’s something I’m remembering to bring into my own life.
  3. Nap often. Naps are great, refreshing us for the next big adventure and giving us those quiet moments to cuddle up with the ones we love.
  4. The best things in life are free. Cobalt’s favorite toys tend to be the ones I’d consider garbage: an empty soda bottle, a stick, etc. Watching him reminds me that we can find fun and joy in the simple things. Stuff doesn’t create happiness, attitude does.
  5. Love unconditionally. This little puppy watches out for me with a lion’s share of courage. He has the sweetest temperament and loves without reserve. Those brown eyes are always full of admiration and pure adoration. That kind of loyalty and love is commendable and inspiring.
  6. Be yourself. Cobalt is pretty reserved around people at first encounter but he warms up quickly and is soon ready to include them in his games. That’s his personality and just because some people think cute puppies have to be super-friendly doesn’t mean he fits the mold. Being a little shy is who he is and we love him for it.
  7. Don’t be a grump in the morning. I am the furthest thing from a morning person, and ironically, so is Cobalt. He yawns his way through the first few hours of the day but still maintains his happy and loving demeanor through the sleepiness. So I’m working on doing the same.
  8. Spend quality time with loved ones. My little guy still thinks he’s a lap puppy even though he weighs in at 45 lbs now. He’s always ready to curl up next to us with some wet puppy kisses and a contented sigh.
  9. Apologize when you screw up. My wee monster has a way of knowing exactly when he’s messed up and he is so quick to beg pardon, insistent on re-establishing the connection with the ones he loves.
  10. Live each day as an adventure. I share Cobalt’s zest for life. Each outing is an adventure, around any corner awaits a new and exciting experience, and fortune truly favors the brave.

IMG_1537Cobalt’s already reminding me and showing me how to live life a little fuller, to appreciate the joys of the moments, and to focus on what really matters. The important things in life are simple and this little guy has been a great teacher of that.

I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love.  For me they are the role model for being alive.  ~Gilda Radner

9 comments on “Life Lessons from a Pup

  1. ethelthedean
    February 21, 2013

    This is one of my favourite entries ever! Gah, Cobalt is SUCH a cutie pie. Seriously, he has slayed my heart. And yes!! We should all work to follow Cobalt’s lead (leash? Hah!)

    I am so happy for both you and J that this little one has brought so much laughter and love (and energy!) into your home. Gilda speaks the truth! xx

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      Oh I love that “follow Cobalt’s leash”! It’s hard to write a bad post when you have cute puppy pictures in it. 🙂

      He’s been driving us nigh to batty lately with his energy, but I just can’t imagine life without him now. So I’m learning patience and humor like crazy instead! 🙂

      Much love and thank you!!

  2. craft fear
    February 21, 2013

    I WANT TO GIVE HIM ALL THE HUGS!

  3. storiesbywilliams
    February 21, 2013

    They seem to have it all figured out don’t they? Who’s really in charge here, us or them?

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      Oh my gosh, yes! I could almost swear he’s smarter than me at times. And then he starts chasing his tail…

  4. whatimeant2say
    February 21, 2013

    I think you definitely have the “zest for life” part down pat!

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      I love that his zest is of such a child-like wonderment. 🙂 But yes, something we certainly share in!

  5. Denise Hisey
    February 23, 2013

    Oh I couldn’t agree more! Dogs are definitely the best examples of living life to the fullest and treating each other well!
    Good boy, Cobalt!

    • Audrey
      February 28, 2013

      There’s just something about that combination of selfless love, loyalty, and silent companionship that just puts us humans to shame when it comes to friendship.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2013 by in Adventure, Dreams, Family, Friends, Fun, Relationships, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
