Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: 7 Layer Bean Dip

This one is a recipe that my mom has been making for years. Meets requirements for us gluten-free eaters and for my vegetarian friends too! It’s super easy to make (just a bit of prep work to do for the layers) and great for bringing to group gatherings (J and I brought it for Superbowl Sunday and it was a hit!). I’ll give the easy version here but if you want to make the refried beans and salsa yourself, feel free – I’m sure it will be delicious! Back when I first started cooking, I would have to call up my mom to tell me ingredients while I was at the grocery store and then call her again so she could tell me what order the layers went on. My cooking skills have much improved but I’ll still write this down for all of you and for my own reference. 🙂 So here we go!

What you need:

  • 1 1/2 c. brown rice
  • 2 tsp cumin – divided
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp cayenne pepper – divided
  • 1 can refried black beans
  • 3 large Hass avocados
  • lime juice to taste
  • sea salt to taste
  • 8 oz of preferred salsa
  • 8 oz sour cream
  • 8 oz cheddar cheese – shredded
  • 2 oz cotija cheese or queso fresco – crumbled

Optional garnishes:

  • Sliced jalapenos
  • Cilantro – finely chopped
  • Black olives – sliced

What you do:

In a quart-sized pot bring water to boil for the rice. Add some coconut oil and sea salt to the water for flavor. Cook the rice until plump and softened (about 25 minutes). Mix in 1 tsp cumin, all paprika, and 1 tsp cayenne.

Heat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a small pot over medium low heat, warm the refried beans.

Transfer beans to a glass baking dish (13×9 works well) and spread to cover the bottom of the dish.

In a medium mixing bowl begin to make guacamole. Peel the husk and discard it and the avocado seed. Mash the avocado with a fork. Add lime juice, sea salt, and cayenne pepper to taste. Mix well until texture is creamy.

Layers are as follows:

  1. Refried beans
  2. Mexican-style rice
  3. Guacamole
  4. Salsa
  5. Sour Cream
  6. Shredded Cheese
  7. Cotija Cheese

If using garnishes, add the olives and jalapenos now. Set the cilantro aside and garnish after baking. Bake the layered dip for 15 minutes or until cheese melts with hints of golden brown.

Have some tortilla chips handy and dig in!

IMG_1784

9 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: 7 Layer Bean Dip

  1. foods for the soul
    February 19, 2013

    I thought it’d be harder than that to make a 7-layer dip… The ones our grocery store sells look so elaborate, but I love how simple your version is!

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      It’s surprisingly painless, isn’t it? 🙂 I’m all for keeping things simple. If you end up making it, let me know how it turns out!

      • foods for the soul
        February 22, 2013

        Simplicity is underrated, especially when it comes to cooking! I love how delicious the Food Network chefs make their dishes, but they usually contain too many ingredients for me…

  2. globalexplorer1
    February 19, 2013

    YUUMM!

  3. storiesbywilliams
    February 20, 2013

    Oh, always a favorite. In fact, Mexican dishes involving enough beans (and preferably rice, salsa, guac and cheese) make me think I actually could become vegetarian!

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      Oh yes, plenty of good proteins and veggies to satisfy and I’m of the belief that it’s never a bad time for Mexican food (except maybe before a long flight). I did the bean dip the other day with some cooked chorizo mixed into the bean layer for a little extra oomph. So yum! Just in case you feel like retaining your carnivore status. 🙂

      • storiesbywilliams
        February 22, 2013

        Chorizo? Can’t go wrong with that! In fact, I got a recipe, which I’m doing again tonight – coinkydink! – for pizza with chorizo sausage. Must go get them now! And some growlers for beer. I intend to eat, drink, and finish Pappa Zulu this weekend!

  4. ethelthedean
    February 20, 2013

    I want this so much for lunch today. But I think I will make something very similar Friday night (that way I can in fact fall asleep after consuming it!) x

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      Tonight?! Tell me how goes! You’re so right, it’s much better to eat when you have a place to take a post bean-dip snooze. Are you guys doing anything on this soggy evening?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2013 by in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
