Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

My Funny Valentine

Do you hear it? Birdsong filling the air, the pop and fizz of champagne bubbles, the gentle murmur of lovers whispering sweet nothings. Yeah, me neither… I’ve been single long enough to understand the beef some people have with Valentine’s Day and I nurse a love/hate relationship with it still (mostly the marketing and consumerism messages that get thrown around like so many rose petals). On the flip side, I really do enjoy celebrating holidays and cherish the opportunity to make memories with the ones I love. So J and I are going for an understated celebration on this, our first Valentine’s Day together.

We’ve opted to do a nice dinner in tonight. No puppy sitter required, I love cooking anyway, and we can keep saving for upcoming travel adventures. I did splurge on some fair trade Belgian chocolate for us. And for dinner? I’m whipping up some bacon-wrapped scallops (because bacon truly is the way to my man’s heart), a mushroom risotto, roasted asparagus, and an irish cream mousse for dessert. Recipes to come soon! We’ve got a tasty bottle of sparkling wine to enjoy and my grand plan is to cuddle up on the couch with my Mr. and my pup and watch a fun action flick. Understated, and oh, so fun!

In celebration of today, I wanted to tell you a little about this man who holds my heart.

  • He’s a Mr. Fix It.
  • He has an amazing work ethic
  • He doesn’t take crap from anyone.
  • He is a leader at heart.
  • He has sky blue eyes.
  • He doesn’t shirk from responsibility.
  • He knows his mind and holds to his principles.
  • He knows what it means to be a true friend.
  • He’s always ready for a fun adventure.
  • He’s the guy you go to for advice about almost anything.
  • He jumped out of an airplane with me, 3 weeks into our relationship.
  • He puts up a tough exterior but he’s a softy deep down.
  • He has a heart of gold.
  • He is content with the little things: a great day with friends, a cozy evening in.
  • He’s trustworthy and honest.
  • He takes pride in a job well done.
  • He likes working with his hands.
  • He loves football and baseball.
  • He gives me flowers (and knows lilies are my favorite) “just because”.
  • He loves to laugh.
  • He believes actions speak louder than words.
  • He works hard for everything he has.
  • He’s afraid of heights.
  • He loves going camping.
  • He’s a man of integrity.
  • He stands up for the weak, the innocent, and the hurting.
  • He’s not afraid to make a fool of himself to get me laughing.
  • He’s a planner.
  • He likes to keep things tidy.
  • He loves the outdoors.
  • He’s a great judge of character.
  • He took me running for our second date and hiking for our third date.
  • He wants to golf more.
  • He is my loving protector.

IMG_0981

So what are you guys doing today? Are there celebrations planned? Are you going to ignore all the hoopla? Inquiring minds want to know!

And one more thing: in the spirit of all those Valentine cards we used to give in grade school, I wish you all a very Happy Valentine’s Day and ask that you would be my Valentine. 🙂

14 comments on “My Funny Valentine

  1. ethelthedean
    February 14, 2013

    You two are amazing! Meep, my silly little heart smiled all the way through this.
    (Also, it’s a bit strange because you literally are me, as we share the exact same beliefs on Valentines Day, and your evening sounds pretty perfect in my books, down to the action flick! Ooer, what are you going to watch?)

    I love, love that J jumped out of a plane with you despite being afraid of heights! What a champ and a half. Big love to you both! I hope you have an absolutely brilliant day. xx

    (Also, I want that tuna in that photo. Like, the most.)

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      It’s hilarious to me that we’re so akin on celebrating holidays, on some major social issues, etc. Two peas in a pod, for sure! It sounds we both had a wonderful Valentine’s Day (am I really so behind on responding to comments? Yeesh!). We ended up watching cartoons – hilarious, no?? I guess we’re easy to please!

      That man is a champ, for sure! He got pretty nervous before our jump but I was so proud of him for going. And now he wants to go again! We’ll be taking his nephews next year when they graduate from high school. Now if I can just get him to come rock climbing with me…. 😉

      Tuna was fab, need us some of that!!

  2. Worrywart
    February 14, 2013

    That is such a sweet thing (the list and the action film) to do for your sweetheart. Happy Valentine’s Day.

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      Funny thing? We ended up watching cartoons instead of the action film. Not sure how that happened but it was still a great time! Happy (very) belated Valentine’s Day to you! And sorry I’m so behind on responses. 🙂

  3. whatimeant2say
    February 14, 2013

    I bet you and your valentine are having a wonderful day!

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      It was a very wonderful day! And one that obviously flew right by since I’m so slow on writing back. 🙂 I hope you and the Cap’n had a great Valentine’s Day too!

  4. betunada
    February 15, 2013

    tuna? bacon-wrapt skallops?!

  5. Susanne
    February 17, 2013

    We kept it simple too – – french dips at home! After researhcing the story/tradition of St.Valentine…….there is not a thing you can buy which will convey the remembrance of the day –

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      Oh, that sounds like a great evening in to me! And you’re spot on, I think it becomes more about making the day special and memorable because no possessions can really add value to it. Great thought!

  6. BrainRants
    February 18, 2013

    He’s a lucky guy, Audrey.

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      Thank you, Mr. Rants! I try to be good to him. I have a feeling you two are cut from the same cloth. I’ve shown him your blog a few times and he’s usually in complete agreement. 🙂

      • BrainRants
        February 22, 2013

        The idea that you and I might synch is about the highest form of praise I could receive. He is truly a lucky man, Audrey.

  7. storiesbywilliams
    February 20, 2013

    Bacon wrapped scallops! Is there nothing you can’t do with bacon? And what did you watch, that’s what I want to know? 😉

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      J tells me that bacon goes well with everything and to speak otherwise is blasphemous. So I don’t argue. 😉
      Oh, we ended up watching Family Guy and The Simpson’s – simple minded as we are, and laughed our butts off! But I blame the sparkling wine for that…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2013 by in Holiday, Holidays, Relationships, Writing and tagged , , , , , , .
