Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Here and There and Everywhere

IMG_1805Happy Monday! How are things? I hope you all had a lovely weekend! For me, the weekend was rich and full and wonderful. I kicked off my Friday evening with a much-needed haircut (full disclosure: it’s been at least 9 months since my last cut) and I feel like a new woman. Plus, I’m a natural curly top and rarely straighten my hair, so the change has been fun.

Then, bright and early Saturday morning I trucked off to sensitivity training so I can volunteer at Engedi Refuge Ministries, an education program and safe house being put in place here in Whatcom County for women coming out of prostitution. The training went really well and gave us all some insights into what these women will be going through and how we can support them through the painful healing and restoration process. Being in a room with a few dozen other women who are committed to reaching out to the hurting was so inspiring. I have a final training session next month that will go into the psychology of trauma bonding.

IMG_1818After the training I rushed back home. J and I had invited some friends over for a double date/puppy play date so that their 14 week old labradoodle could frolic around with Cobalt. The eats were fabulous but I failed to get a picture. Grillmaster J wanted a little surf and turf so he threw some steaks and shrimp on the barbie and whipped up some mouth-watering garlic roasted potatoes. We played a rousing game of Settlers of Catan (because we’re all cool like that) and laughed at the puppies’ antics long into the night. Cobalt has a new-found friend in sweet little Opie and us pet-mamas plan to get our puppies together for another play date soon.IMG_1813

Sunday was just what I needed, the chance to relax at home, cuddle up on the couch with J and Cobalt. And I got some reading in too.

IMG_1830

Sometimes it really is the small joys that make each day great. So what were the highlights of your weekend?

15 comments on “Here and There and Everywhere

  1. whatimeant2say
    February 11, 2013

    I have always loved your curly hair, but I adore the new cut, too! You are beautiful!

    • Audrey
      February 12, 2013

      Thank you, Theresa! It’s nice to have a little change now and then. It’s back to it’s curly-ness today! 🙂 You are too kind, my wonderful friend!

      • whatimeant2say
        February 12, 2013

        Ahhh! You uncovered a bit more of my secret identity! 🙂

      • Audrey
        February 12, 2013

        Oh no! They mentioned it on your guest post the other day so I thought you were an unmasked blogger now. Sorry!

      • whatimeant2say
        February 12, 2013

        No apologies necessary. You’re fine. I was wondering how many sharp eyes would see that!

      • Audrey
        February 12, 2013

        I actually found out when you donated towards my trip to Israel. 🙂

  2. susielindau
    February 11, 2013

    Love your new do!

    • Audrey
      February 12, 2013

      Thank you!! I forgot how good a new haircut could feel. I’m back to my curly-headed ways again today. 🙂

  3. ethelthedean
    February 12, 2013

    Your hair looks fabulous! I love the length and cut, you look simply smashing. 🙂

    Your weekend sounds totally fab – great friends, food, and fun. Plus all this amazing work you are doing to help such a vulnerable portion of our society. I am so proud to have you as my friend! You deserve all the light and love there is in this world! x

    • Audrey
      February 13, 2013

      Thank you, thank you, sweet lady!
      It was such a great weekend. I’m with you on needing to rest after it all though, phew! You are always such an encouragement, thanks for keeping me smiling. It’s so worth it! Hugs to you!

  4. thoughtsappear
    February 13, 2013

    I love your hair cut!

    • Audrey
      February 13, 2013

      Thank you! It’s amazing how a little thing like healthy hair makes such a difference. 🙂

  5. captainariel
    February 13, 2013

    very good looking woman, indeed :). Inside and Out. ❤

  6. storiesbywilliams
    February 20, 2013

    Oh preeeetty! And I so recognized that board game!

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2013

      Thank you, thank you, kind sir!
      YES! A Settlers fan? I should have known!

Leave a Reply

