Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Mulled Wine

The other day I stumbled across a drafted Tasty Tuesdays post that I wrote just before Christmas and had neglected to hit the “Publish” button on. Since it’s still all wintry and cold, I thought this might be the perfect drink recipe to warm up those chilly nights in. Now aren’t you glad it isn’t spring yet?

What you need:

  • 1 bottle of red wine (I’d recommend a Merlot or Cabernet, the cheaper the better)
  • 1/4 c. brandy
  • 1/4 c. honey
  • 6-8 whole cloves
  • 2 star anise
  • 3-4 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 orange – sliced

What you do:

If you have a slow cooker: combine all ingredients, mix well, and turn it to high. Once the wine is heated turn it down to low and serve.

For the stove top: In a medium saucepan, bring the wine and brandy to a simmer (depends on your pan and your stove top what setting it will be). DO NOT boil. That just burns all the alcohol out of it, and what’s the fun in that?! Once you get it simmering away you can mix in the honey and spices. Toss in the oranges and let the stuff simmer for at least 15 minutes with all the ingredients in there before you serve it up. The longer it simmers, the better it tastes.IMG_1529

3 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Mulled Wine

  1. ethelthedean
    January 29, 2013

    I feel like I can smell that amazing aroma through my computer! Oh baby…

    I think I know what I’m going to do this weekend!

    • Audrey
      January 29, 2013

      It tastes like Christmas! 🙂
      J isn’t much of a wine drinker but even he feels the need to partake of this goodness when I make it. I hope you guys enjoy!

  2. Jessica
    January 29, 2013

    Sounds delicious! Very similar to the glühwein I drank in Europe to “keep me warm.” 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2013 by in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
