Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Baby, It’s Cold Inside!

Last weekend the handsome Mr. J and I grabbed some amigos for a double date to cheer on the Everett Silvertips hockey team at Comcast Arena. Check that one off of the 2013 Bucket List! We had such a great time. C & E just got their own little darling puppy so on the carpool down us girls chatted about the joys and despairs of raising our adorable little terrors. Poor C has already lost some beloved clothing items to her cute 3 month old labradoodle, Opie. If we get our pups together for a play date the pictures will be precious and I’ll be sure to share. Because everybody loves puppies, right?

scuttlebuttIf you make a trip out to Everett I highly recommend checking out Scuttlebutt Brewery for a meal. It’s a little off the beaten path and hard to find (we got lost even though I’ve been there once before) but so worth it for the excellent brews and tasty eats. Plus it’s a great place to show up with a group of friends and watch the game. On Saturday night the Canucks were playing it up and the place was hopping with energy. We visited much, ate ourselves silly, and laughed a lot before it was time to catch our own game.

The Silvertips are a junior ice hockey team but their fans treat them like pros. The place felt packed as we made our way to the ticket stand and found our seats. C and I were well prepared with scarves, gloves, and beanies to keep us warm. The guys toughed it out like men are wont to do. Families were crowded all over with their boys practically pogo-ing from excitement. And the groups of guys who had come down for a boys’ night were ready with beers in hand. I love the atmosphere of hockey games. There were kids hanging from the higher balconies ringing cowbells for all they were worth, and we quickly had a sense of camaraderie with those seated around us.

IMG_1724

484818_10100398956410210_280290978_nAnd here’s where I guiltily admit to my dastardly secret: I love hockey fights! I’m not a terribly violent person, really. For someone who can’t stand to watch UFC or boxing matches I will never understand why hockey fights are so awesome to me. There’s just something about watching the rivalry between teams build to a breaking point until those guys in pads throws off their helmets and gloves and decide to settle the score a little differently. So I cheer them on and jump up and down and laugh like a loon. You can judge me. I judge myself.

This time I can’t say that we saw any fights, only a slight disappointment considering that the game was great. The Tips won after a slow start in the first period and we cheered each goal. We might just be back for another game soon or go see what the Abbotsford Heat is up to just over the border.

And then we came back to this bit of cuteness at the end of the evening.

IMG_1748

Happy Monday!

What did you do over the weekend?

5 comments on “Baby, It’s Cold Inside!

  1. ethelthedean
    January 28, 2013

    Too cute for words! What a scamp.

    Glad to hear you had such a fab time at the game. 🙂 I used to really love hockey, but alas, the sport and I have since fallen out of favour with each other. Maybe we will rekindle our romance sometime down the road, but for the time being, I’m glad to read that it has found itself a new, worthwhile mate! xx

    • Audrey
      January 28, 2013

      His ears are trying every so slowly to come up but they’re still so big for his little head – he’s reason for plenty of smiles at home. 🙂
      I remember your post about the Canucks and hockey. Totally understandable. I think it’s still so new to me and my heart isn’t pledged to any particular players or teams at this point. It’s just the fun of the game, the energy of the crowd, and the time with friends that has drawn me in.

  2. betunada
    January 28, 2013

    our kitten still has to grow into his ears.
    now, i’m a relatively peaceful, calm, un-agitated sort … you’d HAVE TO be if you was as old, slow, and un-athletic as i. never-the-less, i think you’ll be glad to know, TWICE in my so-called hockey history MY BRAIN SNAPPED and i went after whoever. fortunately in each case someone else intervened. the first time as i was closing in on whoever, i felt a firm finger dug into my shoulder. i turned around, the ref was wagging “no no” with his other hand’s index finger. “darn!” i thought.
    the 2nd time i had just come back from cancer surgery the month before and some punk-posteriored newcomer on the other team elbowed me in the gut, and whacked me a couple more times besides… when i got up i went after him but right then my big fast nasty teammate Chris slammed full-speed into that other guy — i saw the boards bend a couple feet. the opponent was crumpled to the ice, Chris was being led to the penalty box, turned around, and winked at me. suddenly, i didn’t feel mad or like fighting.

  3. whatimeant2say
    January 28, 2013

    OMG! That picture is so darn adorable!

  4. Denise Hisey
    January 29, 2013

    ooh you lost me with the puppy picture! I enjoyed the weekend just across Puget Sound from you at a beach cabin on Whidbey Island. 😉 Hubby and I went with another couple and relaxed. It was awesome!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2013 by in Adventure, Food, Friends, Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
