Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Confessions of a Bookaholic

BooksI have a confession to make: I think I might be addicted.

My mom instilled a love of books when I was a wee lass and read to me daily. I’ve been an avid bookworm ever since. Books have been my poor man’s time machine to explore other cultures, learn history, and get lost in fantastic worlds. I was the girl that packed more books than clothes in her suitcase for week-long vacations.

J has helped me to move twice since we started dating 8 months ago (yes, I might just be part nomad mixed in with the Scottish and Mexican heritage). During these two moves he broke it to me gently that I have far too many books (there were probably over a dozen boxes, but who’s counting?) and that moving me was an act of pure love and sacrifice. Only a man truly enthralled with me would possibly be willing to break his back under the weight of my precious volumes and tomes not once, but twice. And I was then forbidden from making any further literary purchases, an agreement which I failed abysmally to keep.

In light of J’s back strain and our plans of marriage and house purchasing in the future (which inevitably include another move), I thought it best to ask for an e-reader for Christmas, in the interest of domestic tranquility. I must have been on the “nice” list because the Kindle Fire HD that J bought me has far exceeded my expectations. It’s lightweight, convenient, and I have a veritable library at my fingertips. No more do I worry about if I can squeeze a book between the cell phone and compact in my tiny purse. Gone are the days of globe-trotting with multiple trilogies that were deemed more important than shoe options (and you KNOW how much I love shoes). I’ve become a monster and gone over to the dark side.

Years ago when e-readers were making their debut, I swore vehemently that I would never walk the path of digital literature. The touch, the smell, the bliss of printed paper in my hands could never be replaced with a cold screen. The wonder of pages will forever hold sway over my heart. And yet, my hands ache to hold that heartless gizmo now. My breaks at work are spent nestled in a corner of the lunchroom with my tablet. I am a Benedict Arnold to my beloved books, but an unrepentant traitor. Though I’ll never get rid of my printed friends, I don’t plan to buy anything less than beautiful hardbacks that MUST be part of my collection now. This coming of age technology was the last thing I expected as a devoted reader.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve just downloaded another dozen books and they won’t read themselves. At least I’ve gotten past the denial phase of this addiction. Adventure awaits!

14 comments on “Confessions of a Bookaholic

  1. sj
    January 10, 2013

    Yay! I got my first reader over 3 years ago as a gift and didn’t use it AT ALL for the first 6 months I had it.

    Then I discovered that I was 65th in line for something at my library, but that there was NO WAIT AT ALL for the ebook. So I checked it out and haven’t looked back.

    It probably helped that I had some issues with my hands which makes the physical act of holding a book open painful at times, but I got A NEW Nook HD for Christmas this year and it has EVEN MORE SPACE! Now instead of carrying hundreds of books around with me everywhere I can carry THOUSANDS!

    Technology rules.

    • Audrey
      January 10, 2013

      I just realized that I hadn’t seen you guys in my reader queue for some time. Something about the update messed it all up with some of the blogs I folow. Anyway, so glad you commented. Problem solved and I get to see the awesome posts once again!
      And yes, e-readers are so amazingly convenient. I really couldn’t be happier. 🙂 Funny how we drag our feet so long for some changes and then love them!

      • sj
        January 10, 2013

        I was missing you earlier so came looking for you! The new reader is messed up!

      • Audrey
        January 10, 2013

        It’s so weird. Glad to be back in touch with you though, lady! I’ve missed ya. 🙂

  2. DUH'Merica
    January 10, 2013

    I’ve struggled with this issue. I’ve haven’t been able to give up real books yet. I love turning the pages, I love the smell. I’ve sworn I won’t switch to the “e-reader” dark side, but now I’m intrigued. I guess I need to think more about this.

    • Audrey
      January 10, 2013

      It’s not an easy change to make but I do appreciate the convenience of so many books at hand. I ran out of reading material on all of the trips I took last year (even when I brought 4 or 5 books along) and they got pretty heavy to pack around. And what really has won me over is the number of free books available for download, so many classics that I’ve wanted to own for years but the book budget was never large enough.

  3. ethelthedean
    January 10, 2013

    (I love this post and am so excited to comment on it but FIRST THINGS FIRST)

    MARRIAGE!!! HOUSE PURCHASING!!! ZOMG. IS THERE SOMETHING YOU ARE KEEPING FROM YOUR INTERNET TWIN!? SOOOO EXCITING!!!

    Ahem.

    Okay. I’m calm now.

    Dudette, you and me both. M and I are currently drowning in our books (at last audit we were 2000+) and are currently culling to see what we can give away/sell. It’s so hard though! I feel like I’m getting rid of much loved (but oh so dusty) children even though like in your case it sure does needs to happen. Whatcha reading at the moment? I just finished Leaven of Malice (second book in an awesome trilogy) and just started Son of a Lesser Hero. SO GOOD.

    Love ya tons! xx

    • Audrey
      January 10, 2013

      Haha! Your excitement over this made me so happy! Nothing concrete to report, fear not. Since about week 2 of our dating life we’ve talked future plans though and already have our eye on a house, we’ve talked about weddings a bit, and joke about our future kids even! Eeeek! But no proposal just yet, we’re enjoying the dating season of our lives for now. 🙂

      Oh, the culling of books is the worst – so, so sad! I had to leave many books behind when I moved away from Alaska. I left them in good hands at the local library and that’s something of a comfort. Those “children” really do need good homes when you have to let them go. I just got through reading “War Brides” about five women in WWII from different walks of live who came together in England. A little espionage, concentration camps, bombings, rationing, the power of friendship and love. I’ll have to check out when you’ve been reading!!

      Much love to you, Amiga!

  4. whatimeant2say
    January 10, 2013

    Wait!!!! Are you engaged?!!!!!! Did I miss something?!!!!!!!

    • Audrey
      January 10, 2013

      Oh no, haha! I probably should have worded that differently… J and I have been talking about married life almost since we started dating so there’s a lot of future planning going on. We have a house in mind and have talked about what the wedding will look like. We’re in no rush though so no proposal yet. 🙂

      • whatimeant2say
        January 10, 2013

        Well, I’m glad I didn’t miss anything. Cap’n Firepants and I talked about marriage for a long time, too, before he officially proposed. Just promise we’ll be the first to know when J pops the question. Well, maybe not the first, but somewhere in the top 100.

      • Audrey
        January 11, 2013

        I’m glad we’re not alone in the future-talk. We’re both responsible planning types and it’s been fun to daydream about what our lives could bring in a couple years.
        You will definitely be amongst the first to find out! 🙂 Pinky promise.

  5. Tori Nelson
    January 11, 2013

    I’m still holding on to my books for dear life, but I feel the day I transition to e-books is coming. I tried to talk my three-year-old into giving some of his toys to charity. Sounds nice right? I really just needed some clear space for another bookshelf.

    • Audrey
      January 11, 2013

      Haha, oh my goodness, that’s hilarious! Like I said, the e-reader was a matter of keeping the peace with the boyfriend, definitely a good motivator. But I’d love to get another bookshelf too. When you end up making the transition keep me posted on how goes!

Leave a Reply

