Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Invasion of the Men-folk

Yes, I warned you all it would happen. I even warned myself and did my best to gird my loins. But nothing can quite prepare you for spending a weekend with three men and a male puppy.

DJ (my youngest bro) arrived on Christmas Eve from the Defense Language Institute in Monterey, CA. My heart swelled with pride to see him standing there in his ACUs at the airport and my eyes glistened a little as I hugged him hard wanting to soak up each moment that we could spend with him. He stayed with my grandma for part of last week until we picked him up on Friday. And Saturday morning I headed to the bus station to pick up his best friend, T.

Nothing makes me feel quite so old as seeing these guys grow into men when I still remember them as awkward preteens. T was a whole foot taller than me and pumps iron like a champ now. He and DJ met as brothers do and the video game playing commenced. Those two could pass for blood brothers as it is, they look so much alike.

IMG_1636Our long weekend began by attending a local hockey game Friday evening. And the evening ended with board games played long into the night. Sunday was a chance to relax for all of us. J got along with the “boys” really well and we spent the whole of that day playing board games again – we might just be addicted to Settlers of Catan. Oh, and Cobalt (our little blue heeler pup) won those boys over in no time, they were practically wrapped around his paw whenever he wanted to play fetch.

IMG_1657

IMG_1646For New Year’s Eve we had quite the plan worked out – flaming fajitas and margaritas at a great Mexican restaurant to start. Then we hit up the local improv comedy club, the Upfront Theatre (the brain-child of Ryan Stiles) and laughed ’til our sides hurt. Then it was back home for more games and to toast the New Year. I got to kiss my love to welcome 2013 and revel in another year we can share together – a continuing of the beautiful relationship we started 7 months ago and celebration of the new adventures we have ahead of us.

IMG_1660New Year’s Day was another chance to relax. J and I whipped up some tasty Huevos Rancheros for brunch and our only commitment for the day was to catch Steven Spielberg’s Lincoln at the local cineplex. Lincoln was such a great film – I highly recommend and it’s something I won’t hesitate to add to my own film collection. The gritty sets, the sweeping cinematography, authentic costuming, and the dynamic characters captured me. Above all, the brilliant script won me over. Lincoln came alive, not just as a historical figure I greatly respect and as my favorite president, but as a man of wit, a storyteller, and an intellectual planner. We had a great time together and for a last supper with “the boys” J and I whipped up some steamed broccoli, sweet potato fries, and my Cajun Crab Cakes.

IMG_1658

New Year’s weekend was wonderful, so much more than I could have imagined. The men-folk invaded my quiet life and it was blissful to have them. It was the perfect way to begin 2013 – busy, crazy, filled with laughter, and piled with testosterone – and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’m so honored to have been able to spend this time with my beloved brother, his awesome buddy, my gallant man, and the cuddliest of puppies. With a grateful heart I wish you all a very Happy New Year.

IMG_1661

What did you do to welcome in 2013?

5 comments on “Invasion of the Men-folk

  1. whatimeant2say
    January 2, 2013

    That sounds like so much fun! I’m glad you got to spend some quality time with the guys!

    • Audrey
      January 4, 2013

      It really was a blast!
      I did walk away from the long weekend feeling old. Just can’t party like those youngsters anymore – playing boardgames until 4 am about did me in… 🙂

      • whatimeant2say
        January 4, 2013

        When you find yourself saying, “playing boardgames until 9:30 pm about did me in…”, that’s when you’re old 😉

  2. ethelthedean
    January 2, 2013

    I have so much like for this post. Seriously, you, and your boys, make my heart smile! So glad you all had such a fabulous time. Great food, great laughs, great games, I love it all!

    I know so well what you mean when you right about the first time seeing DJ and having to swallow back tears. Just saying goodbye to my little sister yesterday I had the biggest lump in my throat, and definitely had work at keeping the crying at bay! Families man – they have a way of tearing at the heartstrings like no other. It’s so fab to read about how close you all are 🙂

    We were also given Settlers for Christmas! As few friends are coming over tonight and we thought we’d try it out. Now I am even more excited!

    As for us, we rang in 2013 with Indonesian cuisine, some wine, and A LOT of talking. Until about 3am I think?

    Happiest of happy’s to you my dear! xx

    • Audrey
      January 4, 2013

      This comment was a shiny spot in my day. Thank you, thank you! We had such a great time together.

      Yes, that feeling of saying goodbye is the worst. Well, living far away is the worst… But I’m so glad we each got to spend this holiday season with our families.

      Oh my gosh, if you guys ever need some playing buddies, let us know! 🙂 J is hooked and I should admit that I’m kind of addicted too.

      Indonesian cuisine? I haven’t had the pleasure and now must find a recipe. It sounds wonderful! You’re always an inspiration, dearest. Oh yes, and the late nights… Those boys stayed up until 6 am on New Years playing Catan. I made it until 4am – getting WAY too old for pulling an all-nighter! 🙂

      Love the comment and love you bunches. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

