Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Bucket List for 2013

On Monday I plan to do a photo collage of the best of 2012 so this week’s Photo Friday is on standby. Instead, some thoughts on the New Year:

It’s that time of year again and it seems like everyone’s talking about their much-dreaded New Year’s resolutions. Resolutions have so many connotations tied in with guilt and failure.It’s the running joke that we make these goals just to see them flop come the Ides of March. And who wants that hanging over their head? I’d rather have a dream list for the year – a realistic one, but a great one! I want it to reflect growth in several aspects of my life and to keep me focused on my passions.

Thinking about these dreams reminds me of why I started this blog in the first place – to inspire others to live fully, experience the world, and make their dreams a reality. And it’s my earnest hope that this message comes across through this blog. It is possible to have fulfilling lives, to do something extraordinary, and to change the world. Being a catalyst starts small, small as ripples on a pond. It’s in the little things really; the day-to-day choices we make are the baby steps to greatness. But what good is it to have a crazy, big dream if we can’t make it real?

Last year I learned that writing it all down, and displaying it to see each day was what it took to make it happen. Those dreams stayed at the forefront of my mind. Like anything else, a goal is only accomplished when we focus on it and take baby steps. So this week I’ve been thinking about the upcoming year and dreaming of what adventures I’d like to share with my boyfriend, J, and our little puppy, Cobalt.

  • Road trip with J to Monterey, CA to see my little brother, DJ – including stops at Mt. St. Helens, Crater Lake, the Grand Canyon, the Redwood Forest, the Dunes, the Oregon Coast, and Yosemite
  • Travel internationally for another humanitarian aid trip
  • Visit my mom in Dutch Harbor, Alaska with J
  • See my brother, sister-in-law, and niece – whether they come to me and I go to them in Tennessee
  • Go to my first NFL game
  • Attend a hockey game with friends
  • Write a cookbook
  • Start writing my travel memoirs
  • Play guitar more
  • Train Cobalt to heel
  • Pay off my credit card
  • Compete in the road bike leg of Ski To Sea
  • Teach classes on human trafficking in schools
  • Create and manage a new Hope4Justice website to combat human trafficking
  • Make each day memorable
  • Inspire and encourage

This list seems like a lot when I wrote it all out but there’s an element of reality to it still. Things will change, life has some twists and turns so I’ll be flexible. But here are the priorities, the goals, the dreams, and the aspirations in black and white – as possible as I believe them to be if I commit to them.

So as you making your resolutions and set your goals for the near year, here is my encouragement – you can do it! Write it down, look at it each day, map how you will make it happen. And don’t be afraid to go big – stretch and grow with it.

After all of that I’m excited to know, what do you aspire to in 2013?

“Far away in the sunshine are my highest aspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty, believe in them, and try to follow where they lead.” ~ Louisa May Alcott

Skydiving

10 comments on “A Bucket List for 2013

  1. Angelia Sims
    December 28, 2012

    These are really good. Positive and inspiring. I have only one question…..can I go on the trip to Monterey with you? Sounds wonderful! 🙂

  2. Tori Nelson
    December 29, 2012

    Love the quote at the end. A perfect perspective on goals and reaching them 🙂

  3. storiesbywilliams
    December 29, 2012

    Good list! I’m thinking I might need to make one too, mainly to organize the chaos that is my life right now. I got nothing to complain about, but your aspirations and deeds do make me want to bring a certain and similar sense of clarity to mine.

    • Audrey
      January 4, 2013

      Oh I hear ya on the organizing! It’s so much easier to keep it all straight with a couple of lists. 🙂 I’d really love to see what you end up coming up with, between the writing projects and the traveling it would be awesome!

  4. ethelthedean
    December 30, 2012

    I love your list! And seeing as though you are brilliant, gusty, and driven, I have full faith that you will accomplish everything you have written out. I cannot wait to read all about it!

    As for me, I have a few big things I am hoping to take on, and other little ones too, both professionally, and personally (and athletically!)

    2013 shall be a year of great things, I am sure of it.

    Big love misses! xx

    • Audrey
      January 4, 2013

      It’s exciting to see it all written out now. Things never seem to get done when the ideas just float around in my head. 🙂 Will definitely keep you posted on all of it!

      I got a hint of some of the goals you have ahead and am so so excited for you!! Doubtless, you’ll tackle them like a champ.

      Oh, and this world-imploding meeting that we keep discussing – I’ll email you about that. So excited!!

  5. Emma's Bucket List
    January 19, 2013

    WOW! So great to find another Bucket Lister! I posted my own 2013 bucket list here: http://emmasbucketlist.com/2013/01/02/2013-bucket-list/

    My full List (not just for 2013) is over 260 items (done over half of these to date, but the list keeps growing) http://emmasbucketlist.com/thelist/

    I love that you plan to write a cook book! Are you planning to do this just for yourself, or as a commercial venture? I would love to see it!

    I am also humbled by the work you do and the fact that you’ve worked in refugee camps around the world! I would love to do something meaningful. How did you get into this-do you think it’s possible to do this with Children? I am a mother of three, and live near London

    Have started following your blog now and will add you to my blogroll 🙂

    • Audrey
      January 28, 2013

      A fellow bucket-lister?! I just stopped over and love what you have going on your blog! You have quite the bucket list going too. It’s funny how we check items off but they only seem to grow with each year. 🙂
      The cookbook is just for me to start, and once I get everything down on paper if other people would like a copy I can go from there. I’d love for it to be a commercial venture but am prepared to start with baby steps. I’ll keep you posted on my progress.
      You might try connecting with http://www.stopthetraffik.org They’re an international organization so you can be involved anywhere in the world. And they might be able to point you to a local group that is fighting the good fight against slavery right there in London. It’s a great need that can change so many lives and you can even involve the kids in some aspects like chocolate and textiles issues.
      Will be stopping by to comment on some of the latest posts at your place. See you soon and keep it up! You brought a smile to my face, thanks!

      • Emma's Bucket List
        January 28, 2013

        I’d like a copy of your cook book! That’s a really cool idea by the way…will check out stopthetraffik

        Glad I made you smile! 😀

  6. Pingback: A Bucket List for 2014 | Dangerously Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

