Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Prawn Mac’n’Cheese

Can you guys believe it’s one week until Christmas?! I was debating on what recipe to share this week what with the big day just around the corner. We’re going to be bad and go the decadent route, methinks… I was watching Food Network the other day and saw something about lobster macaroni and cheese – be still my heart! It sounded like a dream. Only problem is that lobster is darn expensive. So I decided to go with some delicious Baja prawns instead. They’re like baby lobsters (16 – 20 per pound)! My gluten-free amigos can go with gluten-free pastas, flour, and such to make this work for them, and my vegetarian amigos can eat this without the prawns because it’s still that good. So this entrée isn’t my most health-conscious meal but if you’re looking to indulge a bit over Christmas weekend, I highly recommend!

What you need:

  • 12 oz. elbow pasta (I used gluten-free rice pasta)
  • 1/4 c. flour (again, gluten-free flour works well – I used almond flour)
  • 1/4 c. butter – divided
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1/2 c. cheddar – shredded
  • 1/2 c. swiss – shredded
  • 1/2 c. havarti – shredded
  • 1/4 c. cream cheese
  • 1 lbs. prawns (peeled and tail removed)
  • bread crumbs (again, I found some gluten-free bread crumbs that worked well)
  • 1/4 c. cherry tomatoes – halved
  • cayenne pepper – to taste
  • sea salt – to taste

What you do:

Heat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a medium saucepan bring water, a Tbsp of butter, and sea salt to a boil. Add pasta and cook to al dente (flexible yet firm).

In a skillet over medium low heat, combine the rest of the butter and the flour. Whisk until well-mixed and allow to thicken. Slowly pour in milk and whisk in. Add cheeses slowly but leave some of the shredded cheese aside (just enough to sprinkle over top). Let simmer until you get a thick saucy consistency. Add more milk to water it down or more flour to thicken it up if needed.

By now the pasta should be done. Dump pasta into a colander to drain out the hot water. Return pasta to the saucepan (do not rinse the pasta). Combine pasta and cheese sauce in the saucepan. Add in prawns and mix well.

Transfer the pasta mixture to a 13×9 glass baking dish and spread evenly. Sprinkle the top with cayenne pepper, bread crumbs, and the remainder of the shredded cheese.

Place in the oven and bake for 20 minutes. The cheese on top should turn a golden brown.

Dish into bowls and garnish with cherry tomatoes. Enjoy!

IMG_1577

10 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Prawn Mac’n’Cheese

  1. Stuff I Can't Post
    December 18, 2012

    Sweet baby MOSES this looks good!!!!! Sorry for the short comment, but I have a million things today. I’ll write more soon, but I had to tell you how good this looks!!! Happy holidays dearest!!!

    • Audrey
      December 19, 2012

      Why thank you! Wishing you a very Merry Christmas too, Darlin’!! I finally got around to emailing you back. 🙂

      • Stuff I Can't Post
        December 20, 2012

        oh yeay!!!! i’ll go check. i don’t get to the email as often as I’d like unless it’s work related… boooo

        Merry Christmas dear and I will email you soon!

  2. ethelthedean
    December 18, 2012

    Ummm….YES. Oh my goodness that looks incredible! You (and Mr. J) are serious kitchen mavericks! xx

    • Audrey
      December 19, 2012

      My favorite is that we’ve just joined the gym with a one year commitment (because this girl needs to get cycling again and is a fair weather rider). So what do I do? Make a vat of cheesy deliciousness to go with our workouts. 🙂 You, my cohort in cheese loving, will be all over this!!

  3. Ad-libb3d
    December 18, 2012

    I gotta try this one. Damn. Now I’m hungry.

    • Audrey
      December 19, 2012

      Oh, please do! And let me know how it turns out for you. 🙂

  4. Curly Carly
    December 19, 2012

    Yumm!!! My stomach just growled looking at this.

    • Audrey
      December 21, 2012

      It’s pretty easy to make too! I used to be afraid to make my own cheese sauce but it’s not bad at all. 🙂

  5. hummusfriedchicken
    December 22, 2012

    Wallahi if I didn’t like men and wasn’t in a committed relationship I’d marry you lol. I actually just made your arroz con pollo picante at a get together last night….soooo good 🙂 and this one sounds really fun to make…and eat

Leave a Reply

