Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Photo Fridays: Israel Bound

Tomorrow’s the day!! After 9 months of planning, hoping, fundraising, and training I’m off to Israel! My brain is still bucking the reality but my heart is aflutter with anticipation.

My team and I will get the opportunity to help in a safe house for recovering victims of the sex trade. And as a safe house is being prepared in Bellingham, I hope we can learn some things to bring back and put into practice here. And I pray that we can bring a bit of faith, hope, and love to the women at the safe house, to those enslaved by drug addiction on the streets, to the Syrians confined to a refugee camp and fleeing their war-ravaged homeland, and to the amazing people who are already on the scene serving them all full-time.

It has been a journey already, just leading up to this point. My faith has been grown in leaps and bounds to see Providence at work through friends, family, and blog buddies who I haven’t even “met”. All of whom have loved, supported, and encouraged like crazy. It takes so many people to send an individual on these aid trips, like the support staff required to send a soldier into the fray – those builders, trainers, recon and intelligence officers. I’m in awe and so honored to have such wonderful people in my life. Thank you.

I’ll try to post while I’m away and share the stories of the people we meet and help – people whose lives are being changed because of you. So for now, I’ll miss you all, be safe, pray hard for this trip, and we’ll swap words again soon!

10 comments on “Photo Fridays: Israel Bound

  1. thesweetkitten
    November 2, 2012

    Good luck!

  2. betunada
    November 2, 2012

    you are wun tuff mudder! resolute, intrepid, ah… i should say sumthing original? shuddn’t i? good luck! it is always uplifting to hear and know of people “fighting the good fight”

    • Audrey
      November 19, 2012

      Thank you! It was a whirlwind of a trip and the most difficult place I’ve been to. But it was an honor to serve the hurting there.

  3. ethelthedean
    November 2, 2012

    So proud of you. Take care, be safe. You are a superhero 🙂
    xx

    • Audrey
      November 19, 2012

      And you are an amazing lady to have on my cheer squad. Thank you! Trip completed and we’ll log it as a success (trying though it was).

  4. whatimeant2say
    November 2, 2012

    Have a safe trip!

    • Audrey
      November 19, 2012

      Safe and back home now! Thank you for the thoughts, prayers, and support. It made such a difference being in a difficult area to know that friends back home cared so much.

  5. storiesbywilliams
    November 2, 2012

    Jealous! Also glad you haven’t left yet. It means I completed the novel that owes so much to your support before you went away! Woohoo. Enjoy…

    • Audrey
      November 19, 2012

      I didn’t get to read it before I left (packing and all that good stuff…) so I’ll beheading over now to check it out! Can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

