Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Faux Risotto

I cheated! That’s right, now the world knows (or at least the 2 people who read my blog). I LOVE risotto and if it’s a menu option when I eat out, I order it. And I’ve long bemoaned that I didn’t know how to make it. The other day I decided to dig around for a risotto recipe and you know what? That stuff is not so easy to make, the knowledge of which nearly dashed my dreams of creamy, ricey heaven. You guys know by now that I’m a big fan of easy meals – eats that you can toss in a skillet, slow cooker recipes, and anything I can chop up, season, and roast in the oven – I’m all over that. But this risotto thing looked difficult. So I said, “The heck with it, I’m going to do my own version.” Gluten-free and vegetarian eaters, rejoice! May I present to you my easy, totally inauthentic, and quite delicious mushroom and spinach ‘risotto’.

What you need:

  • 4 c. chicken broth/water – divided
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • sea salt
  • 1 c. brown rice
  • 1/2 c. white wine (I used Pinot Grigio)
  • 4 crimini mushrooms – chopped
  • 1 c. fresh spinach
  • 1/2 tbsp oregano
  • 1 c. Italian cheese (asiago, provolone, romano, mozzarella) – shredded

What you do:

In a quart sauce pan, bring 2 c. of water to a boil over high heat. Drizzle in olive oil and sea salt to taste. When the water reaches a rolling boil, add rice. Cover with a lid and let boil down. When water boils down, add 1 c. of additional liquid (water or broth).

Continue to add 1 c. of liquid as the water boils off. The rice will absorb the moisture. Add in the white wine and let boil off.

Reduce heat to medium. Add in mushrooms and spinach. Can add more liquid if needed to prevent rice from burning. Mix well. When spinach wilts and mushrooms have given off moisture, add in cheese. Mix well.

The whole boiling down/adding liquid process can take about an hour but thankfully this dish doesn’t have to be baby-sat so you’ll have time to cook up an entrée and a veggie while you’re at it!

Let cool. Enjoy with a glass of the white wine.

We had the risotto on the side of herb-encrusted lamb and roasted aspargus. So YUM!

10 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Faux Risotto

  1. betunada
    October 30, 2012

    WHY? do i torture myself during my mid-after starvation period and look at stuff like this?! ((loooks gggrrrrreeee8t !))

    • Audrey
      November 1, 2012

      Haha, oh, thank you! I’ve been told many a time that I shouldn’t post these during lunch breaks because people who forget their lunches feel miserable. 🙂

  2. zannyro
    October 30, 2012

    I’m drooling…

    • Audrey
      November 1, 2012

      It’s easy to make!! 🙂

  3. ethelthedean
    October 31, 2012

    This looks heavenly, and I would gladly munch on that delicious asparagus too 🙂
    xx

    • Audrey
      November 1, 2012

      Oh yes, I was thinking this would be right up your alley, especially with all the delicious eats you already make!

  4. storiesbywilliams
    October 31, 2012

    Youve inspired to sautéed some asparagus. Give me a few days on the Risotto.

    • Audrey
      November 1, 2012

      Haha, yes the asparagus isn’t quite as time consuming. And quite delicious!

      • storiesbywilliams
        November 1, 2012

        What’s the meat on the side? Pork chop, Schnitzel?

      • Audrey
        November 1, 2012

        Oh, that bit of deliciousness is some herb encrusted lamb shoulder braised in a garlic and white wine sauce. It makes me happy! 😀

Leave a Reply

