Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

The Art of Relaxation

Hola Amigos!! My trip to Israel is in less than a week! This is crazy to me, being as I’ve been planning this trip for almost a year, and suddenly, it’s go time! The weekends of the past month or so have been full and fun, but a chance to wind down before winding up (again) for Tel Aviv was in order. So J, Cobalt, and I worked on refining our relaxation skills. A few tips that worked for us this weekend:

Puppy on caffeine? Maybe… Either way, I’m convinced he’s part bat.

1. Work/Play hard, rest harder.

Take a lesson from the puppy dog.Have you ever seen a puppy on crank? Me neither. But Cobalt is on his own puppy schedule right now and vacillates between acting like he’s on a caffeine/acid trip and passing out on the carpet (the rigors of growing 2 lbs per week, no doubt). J and I opted to try it out and I think it works well (the schedule, not the acid)! This weekend we had some errands to run so did it all at once and in a hurry to get it out of the way, then time to relax. Kitchen to clean? Sure! Dishes, sweep, mop, wash, then time to chill. Something about this flurry of energy, getting chores done, and then being free to enjoying a bit of catatonia worked really well for me.

Bacon-wrapped jalapenos!

2. Eat delicious food.

On Saturday morning I cooked up a Cajun scramble for breakfast.  And for dinner I made up some super yummy lamb in a white wine sauce, mushroom and spinach risotto, and roasted asparagus. Sunday breakfast was all the good stuff: bacon, eggs, and home fries. The afternoon was for football eats so J made us some cheesy, bacon-wrapped jalapenos and I whipped up a 5 layer bean dip. And dinner was a scrumptious stuffed steak dish. All relatively healthy, especially if you’re taking the puppy on regular runs, and so very tasty.

A brimming river.

3. Sunday afternoon walks are the best.

We took Cobalt out to the park for a wander. Walking hand-in-hand with J was rejuvenating. The sun peeked out from autumn clouds, the trees were showing off their best colors, and the river was brimming with recent rain. Cobalt got a burst of energy and had fun dragging J through the overgrown brush by the river. And then we sprinted home to wear ourselves out completely.

He’s a toy-hoarder.

4. Nap often.

I fell asleep watching football after our walk. Apparently I was snoring AND drooling on J’s chest. And here I thought the dog would be the drooly one. J wasn’t mad but he laughed at me for a long time. But that’s beside the point. Naps are awesome on weekends!

5. Laugh most.

This weekend was a blast! A chance to spend with my wonderful guy and sweet pup. We laughed at each other, at ourselves. I salsa danced my way around the kitchen, making dinner. J scared the living daylights out of me during football. We pointed and laughed at the ridiculous and hilarious touch down dances each player makes. We teased each other incessantly. It was a weekend of hilarity and such good memories. Nothing reinvigorates my soul quite as much as a good and restful time with the ones I love.

A battle for the ages!

So how did you relax this weekend?

And if you were off on a crazy adventure instead, what did you do?

12 comments on “The Art of Relaxation

  1. ethelthedean
    October 29, 2012

    All the likes are belong to this post. Also – LOOK AT YOUR PUPPY OOOOEEEERRR HE IS THE CUTEST!!!

    Goodness, please accept my apologies for this outburst, but seriously, if looks could kill…what a cutie!

    This was the exact thing I needed to read on a rainy Monday afternoon. You are brilliant, and beautiful, and to hear about all the love and light in your life just infuses me with the vim and vigor I need to make it through the rest of the day.

    We ran around like to wackos this weekend, and this week is off to a similar start! Pub trivia tonight (I was thinking about going for a run between getting off work and going out but the perma-drizzle may be putting a damper on my plan. Ah well!)

    Big love!
    xx

    • Audrey
      October 30, 2012

      Isn’t he precious? I tripped over him this morning and spilled water everywhere but I could hardly scold him for being under-foot because he’s so darn cute.

      I’m so glad that it helped with your Monday. Nothing like cute puppy pictures to make the rain seem less grey. 🙂

      You guys were all kinds of crazy busy over the weekend, my goodness! And how was the Pub Trivia? It sounded like a blast by the way… So much fun! Big hugs to you, mi amiga! Love you bunches!!

  2. The Good Greatsby
    October 29, 2012

    Glad to hear you’re making relaxation an art form. All my life I’ve been trying to take relaxation to the next level but I constantly encounter naysayers who can’t understand my vision.

    • Audrey
      October 30, 2012

      Those darn naysayers – just too myopic. Calling it laziness… Sounds like credit should go to you though, since you’re the true pioneer in this relaxation endeavor! You’ve paved the way for tired souls like me to take more naps and for that, I thank you.

  3. whatimeant2say
    October 29, 2012

    Cobalt is seriously adorable. Your weekend sounds absolutely perfect to me!

    • Audrey
      October 30, 2012

      He’s the sweetest, and he’s got a darling personality to go with it. A bit of bark and growl when we play games but he’s SUCH a cuddler any other time. 🙂

  4. Ad-libb3d
    October 30, 2012

    Toy hoarder = hilarious. Wonder what he’s dreaming about?

    • Audrey
      November 1, 2012

      It’s true! He’ll retrieve his toys, pile them up, and lay on top of them!

      I wonder too… He whimpers and his feet move quite a bit when he sleeps, it’s hilarious!

  5. betunada
    November 3, 2012

    there is so much going on that seems, um, “common denominator.” could be that, basically, krishna was talkin’ to me (in my previous life as arjuna) so i sumtymez sense an underlying commonality (and it ain’t “common” by any means!) to stuff.
    like in your case. it’s ‘common’ but your observations on life, and the life you observe, is NOT ‘common’.
    (i’ll stop RITE HEAR b-4 i write anything Mm bare ass eng)

    • Audrey
      November 19, 2012

      I think you’re spot on! Life can be “normal” but it’s really about the lens you choose to see it through. It’s those little things that can mean the most and should be thoroughly appreciated. 🙂

  6. storiesbywilliams
    November 10, 2012

    How did I miss this one? That puppy of yours is adorable, and now I’ve got a hankering for bacon wrapped something… damn! Good post!

    • Audrey
      November 19, 2012

      Oh yes, bacon is always a good thing. And thank you! He’s growing like a friggin’ weed, it’s crazy!

Leave a Reply

