Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

My Favorite Things

1. Good Food.

For dinner, I whipped up some delicious steak in a red wine/crimini mushroom reduction sauce, along with kale chips, and bleu cheese potatoes. Yum!

2. Puppy Walks

Cobalt (my darling blue heeler pup) and I went for a lovely autumn walk/run along one of the trails through the county on Saturday. We enjoyed the sun peeking through cloud, gorgeous foliage colors, and loved getting to stretch our legs.

3. Naps.

The best part about going on a puppy walk is the inevitable puppy nap that follows. Little Cobalt was out cold and slept like a… baby… I mean, puppy… for the rest of the afternoon which gave me the chance to get some things done around the house. Plus, he’s so darn cute when he sleeps.

4. Ladies’ Night!

I got to have the girlfriends sleep over on Saturday night. We drank wine, ate cheese, caught up on life, laughed a ton, and watched Audrey Hepburn at her best in Breakfast At Tiffany’s!

What are your favorite things?

13 comments on “My Favorite Things

  1. Curly Carly
    October 22, 2012

    Cutest dog ever!!

    • Audrey
      October 22, 2012

      Thank you!! He’s a sweetheart! I realized it didn’t publish the whole post the first time so excuse the random photos…

  2. ethelthedean
    October 22, 2012

    First off, I love all of these things. And that photo of your puppy has melted my heart into a puddle of mush! EEP. What a cutie.

    Right now I am digging warm fires, kitten kisses, and my forward thinking husband who was waiting for me at the metro station to drive me home so I didn’t have to brave the rain (even though it’s only a 5 minute walk!)

    Big love to you gorgeous!
    xx

    • Audrey
      October 29, 2012

      He does that to me every time too! It makes it hard to get upset when he does things like chew on my slippers (yes, that happened this weekend).
      Oh wow, I’m digging your list of favorites right now. Between the fire, sweet Nymeria, and your wonderful hubs, it sounds fabulous!

  3. whatimeant2say
    October 22, 2012

    Dimples’ laughter, the Captain’s sweet smile, and Wonderbutt snoring on my lap.

    • Audrey
      October 29, 2012

      Your list sounds cozy and relaxing to me. Love it!

  4. thesweetkitten
    October 22, 2012

    Traveling, writing and photographing 🙂

    • Audrey
      October 29, 2012

      Oh yes, the best of favorite things!!

  5. storiesbywilliams
    November 10, 2012

    I would definitely rate having friends over with copious amounts of wine and rich foods as right up there. It’s also one of my favorite things to do dinner with my training buddies after a hard tkd class, especially where good Chinese/Pho/Korean BBQ is concerned. And of course, snuggles with the wife furry child of the family. Damn, you’re dog is precious!

    What exactly is a healer anyway?

    • Audrey
      November 19, 2012

      Ooooo! I like your list, it sounds fantastic – the food, the friends, the wine, and the cuddle time.

      Little Cobalt’s already stolen my heart, and J is pretty fond of him too!

      Blue Heeler is the name us Yanks use for Austrlian Cattle Dog. 🙂 They’re a newer breed (150 years in the making) from Australian that were bred to herd cattle in the outback. Super smart dogs and very athletic. We got Cobalt to be my guard dog when I’m home alone and so I have a hiking/running buddy. He’s already got the guarding instinct down, it’s pretty cute – he follows me around like a shadow to make sure I’m safe.

      • storiesbywilliams
        November 20, 2012

        Cute! I thought I met one of his breed this summer, but turns out I’m wrong. There’s a breed of Mexican shepherd dog that looks quite similar. He was a sweetie, which was why he was taken to the country and dropped off (!) The owner found him and brought him back to Canada.

        In your boy’s case, I hope he has a happy and comfortable life. Lord knows doggies have earned a good life well in advance, out of sheer dedication and loyalty to their people!

      • Audrey
        November 20, 2012

        A Mexican shepherd… I’m intrigued! Oh, Google.
        It’s heartbreaking how dogs around the world (and even here) are treated so I’m glad he was found! I’ll never forget the street dogs that roam around Thailand.
        Oh yes, our little guy is just a peach. Very sweet temperament and he’s already doing his job in spades as far as companionship and love. 🙂

      • storiesbywilliams
        November 20, 2012

        Nice. Remind me to tell you some cat stories some time. Our boy is not exactly a peach, but he does have what I like to refer to as an “overdose of personality”. Some days, I wonder where the hell he got it and what I did to encourage his irrepressible nature!

Leave a Reply

