Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

It’s The Great Pumpkin!

Over the weekend, the handsome Mr. J and I got to make a stop at my favorite local pumpkin patch to pick out a couple of the lovely squash to carve up. Cobalt, our new pup, joined us for the ride but he was more than happy to stay in the Jeep – a reprieve from meeting new people and experiencing the bustle of a working farm. On a side note, we learned that our “fearless” cattle dog puppy is terrified of cows…

For as long as I can remember, my parents would pack us kids up and make the county drive out to Stoney Ridge Farm in October.  We would traipse through the pumpkin patch, pick through the apple orchard, and meet the petting zoo animals. I always got distracted by patting the horses and had to be prevailed upon to join the family on a hay ride out to the patch. My brothers would try to find the biggest pumpkin in the patch and beg my parents to buy it. We would try to lose ourselves in the corn maze, a game of hide-and-seek. Bundled up tightly, we braved the chill wind and occasional rain with a fresh cup of hot cider. And we learned the hard way that you don’t carry a pumpkin by it’s stem. Pumpkin patches are one of my favorite autumn traditions.

Admittedly, it’s not quite the same euphoria now that I’m older. But I still get a happy, warm, fuzzy feeling about pumpkin patches. J had never been to a pumpkin patch, braved a corn maze, picked out a pumpkin, or carved one though, so this was a necessary experience. We got to wander the farm hand-in-hand, surveyed the trapeze goats (yes, they walk along planks to a 30 foot platform for food!), see a real pumpkin tree, laughed at some silly looking chickens, picked out our pumpkins, and came away with some home-made apple and pumpkin pie.

Then it was time to carve those pumpkins into something spooky. Cobalt likes to be right in the middle of things, and pumpkin carving is no different. Our pumpkins turned out great and will be ready to greet guests! We’ll be roasting the pumpkin seeds this week – YUM!

What did you do over the weekend?

Do you have any family traditions for autumn?

6 comments on “It’s The Great Pumpkin!

  1. ethelthedean
    October 17, 2012

    There is too much like going on in this post – I need to get myself together so I can leave a proper comment. First: roasting the seeds is totes my favourite! I am salt-fiend so I always make two batches. One for the regular folks, and one for little old sodium-saturated me. Second: Cobalt is so cute he makes my heart melt into a puddle! MEEP! Third, you and J. ain’t so bad yourselves 🙂 Plus your pumpkins look fab!

    I too love going to pick out pumpkins. M and I have our but have yet to carve them, hopefully sometime this week we can spread the newspaper across the floor and get to work! Also, pumpkin-apple pie!? *brain explosion.*
    xx

    • Audrey
      October 18, 2012

      Haha, oh, you are seriously my favorite! It is a lot packed in here with the pictures. I still have to get those seeds roasted – that adorable puppy is such a distraction… 🙂 He makes us so happy! Mind you, he’s either bouncing off of the walls or napping, but he’s got such a sweet demeanor. The pumpkin carving was so fun and I loved getting to share this tradition with J. Oooh! Maybe we’ll get to see some pumpkin carving snaps from you guys on Monday? Oh, and I better ammend that, it was apple pie and pumpkin pie respectively. Still fabulous, but NOW you have my brain wondering if apple/pumpkin pie is a possibility because it sounds fantastic! Ah, autumn!!
      Love you bunches and thank you, this comment made me happy!

  2. craft fear
    October 17, 2012

    What kind of puppy is Cobalt? He’s adorable and his name is super original. How to even begin with the fall traditions…well I live in southern California so it usually means having to endure heat waves where they absolutely DO NOT belong (it is 90 degrees currently). Also, are the pumpkin and apple pies separate or one in the same? Because if it were one pie that would be fascinating.

    Autumn brings the wine-grape harvest that I have the pleasure/exhaustion of participating in. New pens and notebooks from back-to-school sale clearance. Wearing my “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown” t-shirt (and giving each other rocks in lieu of candy). Making deep dish apple-pie. The latest scary movies in the theater with friends and family. The re-release of Firestone’s Velvet Merlin oatmeal stout….

    • Audrey
      October 18, 2012

      Cobalt is our 11 week old Australian Cattle Dog puppy. We’ve had him for less than two weeks but he’s already got us wrapped around his paw. 🙂 Thank you! No, the apple and pumpkin pies are separate entities but you’re the second person to mention a combination so now I’m tempted to experiment. If only I was a good baker…
      I have to say I like the sound of your seasonal traditions really well, especially the wine harvesting part, yum!! And with the t-shirt, so fun. You’ve got this season covered, now I need to track down a deep dish apple pie. And the stout has got to be delicious… You’re making me miss beer (gluten-sensitive)!!

  3. Ad-libb3d
    October 17, 2012

    I nominated you for an award – not sure if you accept these things or not, but it’s there if you’d like it. No offense taken if it’s not your thing, but your blog is fantastic and I just wanted to throw your name round a bit. Cheers.

    • Audrey
      October 18, 2012

      Thank you so much! I’m honored and thrilled. So glad that you’ve been enjoying the blog (as I’ve been enjoying yours)!

Leave a Reply

