Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Cajun Crab Cakes

It’s that time of the week again and have I got a bit of deliciousness for you guys!  These crab cakes can be made gluten-free if you’ve got digestion issues like I do.  They are decadent and go perfectly with some yam fries and collard greens (ok, I didn’t have collard greens, but asparagus is great too).  And having a yummy glass of wine handy while you cook doesn’t hurt!

What you need:

  • 1 lbs lump crab meat (I used Dungeness)
  • 1 c. bread crumbs – divided (gluten-free bread crumbs for me!)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 bell pepper – finely chopped
  • 1/2 sweet yellow onion – finely chopped
  • 2 crimini mushrooms – finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil (or other vegetable oil)
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 tbsp Tabasco (or other hot sauce)
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp Old Bay Seasoning
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

What you do:

Add 1 tbsp coconut oil to skillet over medium high heat.  When oil is hot, add onions, garlic, and bell pepper and sauté until softened.

In a small bowl, combine 1/2 c breadcrumbs and egg.  Mix well.

In a medium bowl combine lemon juice, Old Bay, salt, pepper, paprika, cayenne, Worcestershire, and Tabasco.  Whisk.  Add breadcrumb mixture, crab meat, and sautéed veggies.  Mix well.

Form into 8 patties and place in refrigerator for 30 minutes.

Spread 1/2 c. of bread crumbs on plate. Coat patties.

In a large skillet over medium heat, melt coconut oil.  Pan fry patties until bread crumb coating browns.

These are great with some chipotle aioli.  My recipe for it can be found at the bottom of this post.

Enjoy!!

* And on a personal note, wanted to let you guys know that I got all the necessary donations and funding to go to Israel for the aid trip!  Thank you all so much, it means the world to be to be supported like this.  I’m honored and grateful!

10 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Cajun Crab Cakes

  1. susielindau
    October 17, 2012

    Yum! Thanks for sharing!

    • Audrey
      October 18, 2012

      I hope it turns out great for you! They tend to fall apart a bit, but that doesn’t detract from the deliciousness.

  2. ethelthedean
    October 17, 2012

    Yaaaaay! Congratulations beauty!! I am so excited for you 🙂 Also, this recipe looks absolutely deeeelish! I love me some crab cakes.
    xx

    • Audrey
      October 18, 2012

      Thank you SOOOO much! To know you were backing me up was a huge encouragement when things were looking dim there. It meant so much!

  3. storiesbywilliams
    October 17, 2012

    Oh baby! I looooove crab cakes! Some capers, some garlic aioli, ha! Forget about it! And these, a Cajun twist, awesome!

    • Audrey
      October 18, 2012

      Capers! That’s what I was forgetting! Oh, yes, the cayenne and Tabasco with aioli made me think of good Southern cooking. 🙂

  4. Shay
    October 17, 2012

    This looks fantastic! I cannot wait to try it! Thanks!

    • Audrey
      October 18, 2012

      For sure! Let me know how it works out. 🙂

  5. whatimeant2say
    October 18, 2012

    Gosh, I’m so glad about your trip!!! Hooray! And, I can’t wait to try this recipe. Of course, I keep saying that about all of your recipes, and I have yet to try one. I think I really need to commit some day…

  6. Pingback: Invasion of the Men-folk | Dangerously Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

