Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Photo Fridays: Autumn Reflections

Autumn has finally arrived to the beautiful Pacific Northwest. Today we had our first all-out, honest-to-goodness Washington rain since Independence Day. The leaves have been changing for about a month now, slowly turning from verdant greens to fiery shades of crimson and gold. And the morning air has been crisp, nipping at the nose and lungs with each deep breath. But it just didn’t feel quite like autumn until the rain came today.

Autumn makes me happy, it makes me want to cozy up with a hot drink, it makes me want to lose myself in a book, it makes me more pensive. More reflective.

Here’s a photo from last autumn during a weekend trip to central Washington. Fall leaves reflecting off the waters of the Columbia River.

What’s your favorite part of autumn?

8 comments on “Photo Fridays: Autumn Reflections

  1. thesweetkitten
    October 12, 2012

    The vibrant colors! And slowly but surely, they arriving in Belgium 🙂

    • Audrey
      October 12, 2012

      Autumn has been slow for you guys too? I bet it’s lovely…

      • thesweetkitten
        October 12, 2012

        I hope I can it photograph it soon 🙂

  2. ethelthedean
    October 12, 2012

    Soooo beautiful! I truly do love our Fall. Although it’s absolutely horrendous out today – the fog and rain combo is so thick it’s like walking through soup. So, not the best.

    I hope you and J. (and Cobalt too!) have a brilliant weekend! Big hugs.
    xx

    • Audrey
      October 12, 2012

      It’s not the most fun to walk in… 😦 Our fall is pretty amazing though, all the colors, the leaves, the sunsets, the crispy mornings. And we live in a Mecca for delicious coffee and tea! Ah, love it! Hope the rain holds off for you to get home warm and dry. Have a fab weekend yourself, lovely amiga (and Mr. M of course!) and I can’t wait to hear about all the weekend adventures on Monday.

  3. Woman in the Middle
    October 12, 2012

    Since I live in So Cal my favorite part of autumn is the fact that it finally cools off. Lovely! Yesterday it actually rained here. Yeah!!!

    • Audrey
      October 12, 2012

      Oh I bet! My mom grew up in Santa Monica and told me about how she used to pray for rain as a kid. 🙂 Glad you’re enjoying this beautiful season!

  4. Ad-libb3d
    October 12, 2012

    I love the crispness of the early morning air — cool enough to feel fresh but not too cold to be uncomfortable. Especially if you’re up and lucky enough to catch the sunrise.

Leave a Reply

