Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Down To The Wire

It’s almost time.  I can’t believe that my aid trip to Israel is just around the corner!  We’re due to leave on November 3rd for 12 days and the team is deep into preparations.

For those of you who don’t know already, I’ve been fundraising for the past few months to go to Israel for humanitarian aid.  My team and I will be working with prostitutes and drug addicts in the red light district of Tel Aviv.  This is right in keeping with my passion to help victims of sex trafficking, both internationally and domestic.  I’m so grateful for the opportunity to go and serve these women.

And there’s some great news to share with you guys.  Of the $2500 needed to go on the trip, only another $1450 is needed!  We’re getting there.  Coworkers, friends, and family have all been very generous in donating toward this work and I so appreciate it!

My deadline for turning in the funds for the trip is October 15th, just around the corner.  So if you’re a praying type, pray hard that the needed money will come in.  If you’re a doing type and want to help out, you can go to this website to give online.  Just specify that is for “Missions: Israel” and put “Audrey Johnson” in the memo.  If I can’t pay for the cost of the trip by the 15th, I won’t be able to go.  So here’s belief in action, seeing it through to the end and hoping that it comes together.  If I don’t go on this trip, I trust that it’s not where I’m supposed to be at this time and will continue my work with domestic human trafficking here in Bellingham.  Until then, it’s a lesson in faith.

I’ll keep you guys posted with another update next week.  Thank you all so much for the support and encouragement!  Working with victims who have been so mistreated and broken is difficult but so worth it.  And knowing I have such awesome people backing me up in this endeavor means the world!

10 comments on “Down To The Wire

  1. Robyn B.
    October 10, 2012

    My friend constantly reminds me that God is seldom early but He’s never late. Every mission adventure Bruce and I have signed up for, the funds have been there, sometimes right down to the very last minute. I call that our God of the 11:59– meaning the very last possible minute. It’s exciting to be sure and faithbuilding!! We are experiencing this again as we prepare and raise funds for our mission to Costa Rica in December. Praying for you in your endeavors! ~~Robyn

    • Audrey
      October 12, 2012

      Thank you, Robyn. This was exactly what I needed to be reminded of on Wednesday. You’re spot on and it really has become a journey of faith, even before the actual journey. The best is seeing it all come together in the end, right down to the last moment and being in awe with gratitude. Thank you so much, lady! You made my day! Will be praying for you and Bruce as you wait patiently for your trip funds as well. 🙂

  2. storiesbywilliams
    October 10, 2012

    Still jealous! Have a good time… I say through clenched teeth!

    • Audrey
      October 12, 2012

      Haha, well thank you! Sounds like you’d better start planning a trip… 🙂

      • storiesbywilliams
        October 12, 2012

        Done! Turkey and Greece it is! Or possibly Ireland… we’re gonna need a moment here. The wife and I got different things in mind.

        And don’t be thinking that just because you’re in the Holy Land means you can stop reading my posts. I depend on that regular shot of “awesome” you know 😉

      • Audrey
        October 12, 2012

        YES! I HIGHLY recommend Greece, it’s beautiful and the food is fantastic! If you go to Ireland than it’s MY turn to be jealous though. J and I have talked about honeymooning in the UK and Ireland. Haha, yes, I’ll do my best to keep up! But there’s only so much a girl can do with an iPhone and free wifi… 🙂

      • storiesbywilliams
        October 12, 2012

        I will appreciate every effort… and I don’t really expect it of course, but I’m sure you already knew that. Ah, in fact, I think it might be done by the time you get home. Which means I’ll be editing, revising, adding, and putting it into ebook format for distribution! Woohoo!

      • Audrey
        October 12, 2012

        But of course! 🙂 I’d like to keep in touch while I’m out and at the very least will make an effort to post the occassional update. Oh really? You’re so close!! I’m stoked for you, that’s going to be awesome!

  3. ethelthedean
    October 12, 2012

    Audrey! I just donated but there wasn’t any place for me to specify that I wanted the money to go towards your trip. I have e-mailed them to make sure they know. Please let me know if it makes it to you okay!
    xx

    • Audrey
      October 13, 2012

      Thank you so much!!! Don’t worry about getting my name in there. I thought there was a memo or notes area but I will go in on Monday to get it all worked out. Again, I’m so grateful – thank you!

Leave a Reply

