Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

An Addition To The Family

For several months now, even into the first month of our dating J and I have pondered and conferred on the idea of having a little one.  We’ve mulled over the weight of responsibility this will bring us, the financial burden that we’ll be taking on, and contemplated how this will change our lives.  Once we embark on this path, there’s no turning back.  So we started preparing.  J worked on his house all weekend with his brother, getting ready for our bundle of joy.  No, no, no, I’m not pregnant!  Nor do I intend to become pregnant for some years yet.  We’re going the adoption route.  And yesterday we went out to search for the right puppy for us.  That’s right, we’re going to get a baby dog!!

I don’t know what you were thinking… pshhhh!  The fence is up, the dog bed is purchased, and we have a shopping list for the rest of the doggy necessities.  We’re working out a schedule between the two of us to take care of this little one the best we can.  Partnership at it’s best!  We started researching the kind of dog that would work best to bring into our lifestyle; energy, intelligence, fun-loving, loyal.  We talked ourselves into certain breed types and out of others and all of it might go out the window when we meet the one that steals our hearts.

Our search started at the local humane society.  There were 3 of the fluffiest, most playful little mutts penned up together.  One black and two blondes, they pawed at the chain link fence to greet us.  Their excited puppy yips echoed off the brick walls.  J and I got goofy grins on our faces and stars in our eyes just watching them.  I imagined riding home with one tucked in a blanket on my lap…  I mentioned that there was another shelter just down the road and J was quick to pull us from our puppy-induced stupor and suggest that we see all our options before we commit to a buddy for the next 10 years or so.  Brilliance!  I love that man!

On the drive we started discussing logistics of having one of those puppies.  They’re suspected to be a mix of some kind of shepherd breed and a Newfoundland.  You know what that means?  Those cute little bundles of fluff will be GIANT bundles of fluff in a couple months.  We have small cars, J has a small yard, and a small house.  Having a giant dog might not be the best choice…

At the other shelter, I espied the most adorable chocolate lab pup in a pen on the lobby floor.  He was napping amongst cozy blankets, belly up and legs splayed.  Hilarious and so, so precious!  His tag said that he was adopted already.  And the other dogs didn’t quite suit for the sort of pet we had in mind.  We’re looking for a hiking buddy, a running pal, a guard dog, a companion – a member of the family that fits in with us like a third pea in the pod.

Today I’m considering making a drive to the next county to check out some Blue Heeler puppies (the same breed as my beloved Gunni, who recently passed).  See the photo above?  That’s a heeler pup!  Tempting, very tempting… yes?  Right now there’s one female and one male left of the litter.  And there are a couple other litters that are several hours away if we need to broaden our search.  The hunt is on!  We’re ready to bring a baby home!

My Gunni

17 comments on “An Addition To The Family

  1. whatimeant2say
    October 3, 2012

    So, I notice bulldogs don’t seem to be one of your options…

    • Audrey
      October 4, 2012

      Probably not…. I just can’t ask some poor cousin of Wonderbutt to accompany me on those 3 mile runs. 😦

      • whatimeant2say
        October 4, 2012

        You’d end up carrying him, which would surely develop your own stamina, at least.

  2. storiesbywilliams
    October 3, 2012

    Awwww! Get a Husky, or an Akita! I want one too, but our stupid lease won’t allow it. So please allow me to live vicariously through you 😉

    • Audrey
      October 4, 2012

      Haha, J wants a Husky!! We’re reconsidering though because they tend to dig and then there’s the shedding… oh the shedding. That and the real issue is that I can’t seem to find puppies for anything less than $1000! What is the world coming to?

      • storiesbywilliams
        October 4, 2012

        Uh, high demand? Plenty of good homes, not enough puppies to go around? I hope so, the reverse would be tragic!

      • Audrey
        October 4, 2012

        I just don’t see a lot of them around here in general. Now Alaska? That’s a very different story! Go figure. 😉

  3. ethelthedean
    October 4, 2012

    Excuse me, my brain and heart seem to have exploded from an overload of cute. MEEP! PUPPIES!

    Sooooo excited for you and J to find your perfect little “baby”! Haha, M and I ALWAYS refer to Nymeria as our daughter, so I definitely, definitely get the parent thing. There truly is nothing like the love of a pet 🙂
    xx

    • Audrey
      October 4, 2012

      Right?! So so excited! My head has images of puppies running through it all day.
      I had a couple of friends scold me for making it sound like J and I were going to have a baby, haha! I really couldn’t help myself… Besides, it really is a bit like parenting, especially when they’re little like that. There’s all the feedings, late night wake ups to let them out, naps, playing, teething, teaching – we’ll have our hands full!

  4. The Good Greatsby
    October 4, 2012

    We had a Sharpei but he left for vacation after a few weeks. Get a Sharpei.

    • Audrey
      October 4, 2012

      He needed a break from the Fonz? 😉
      A Sharpei could be a little more difficult to find out here in the PacNW but I’ll see what we can do…

  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    October 4, 2012

    Cool! I have been thinking of getting myself a puppy as well. The cats are just not that great as conversationalists, so it’s pretty quiet around here during the day. I’ll see how your situation goes before I take the final plunge……. I once knew a guy with a Newfoundland……. the mutt was about 6 feet tall and weighed about 300 lbs……. 🙂

    • Audrey
      October 4, 2012

      That sounds like a great idea! You’d definitely be kept busy and entertained. 🙂 I’ll keep you posted on the puppy adventures. Haha, so new Newfie turned into a little black bear! And THAT is why we decided against getting the Newfoundland mix pups. We’d have to buy a pickup to haul it around it, plus trailer of course! 🙂

  6. betunada
    October 4, 2012

    duzzn’t madder. jes’ get. most of ours were either pound/kennel rejex or the occasional stray …

  7. Curly Carly
    October 6, 2012

    How exciting! I know you’ll love your new puppy!

    • Audrey
      October 9, 2012

      We already do!! 🙂 He’s such a sweetie. How are things going with your beauty of a beagle?

      • Curly Carly
        October 9, 2012

        Good!

        You have a great memory! She’s doing good. She makes me laugh every day 🙂

Leave a Reply

