Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Photo Fridays: Weight of the World

Happy Friday! It’s been a wild and chaotic last two days so apologize for disappearing from the blogosphere for a bit. But now I’m back and I still have Israel on the brain. With my humanitarian aid trip coming up in less than two months, small wonder! So today I wanted to share one of my favorite “artsy” shots from the last time I was in the Holy Land. My team and I got to visit the ruins of Capernaum, near the Sea of Galilee (Lake Tiberius) and this ancient millstone caught my eye. Can you imagine milling flour with it?!

20120914-170439.jpg

7 comments on “Photo Fridays: Weight of the World

  1. whatimeant2say
    September 15, 2012

    That is such a great photo!

    • Audrey
      September 19, 2012

      Thank you! It turned out better than I hoped! 🙂

  2. captainariel
    September 17, 2012

    Beautiful.

  3. The Good Greatsby
    September 17, 2012

    Never made it to the middle east. It’s on my list.

    • Audrey
      September 19, 2012

      I hope you get the chance to go! It’s an amazing place, warm people, rich culture. I’m looking forward to going back!

  4. storiesbywilliams
    September 18, 2012

    Man, old things always seem so unwieldy! Illustrates just how labor intensive the past used to be!

    • Audrey
      September 19, 2012

      It’s crazy, isn’t it? I’m not much of a baker in the first place, but if it took this much work to grind me some flour – hell no and hello paleo diet!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2012 by in Adventure, Dreams, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , .
