Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Request, A Letter

Some of you might remember a post I put out a few months ago about joining a team to make a short-term humanitarian aid trip to Israel.  That trip is just around the corner now and I need your help!  These trips can be so powerful, they can change people’s lives, and I know they make a difference.  But it takes more than me going with a small team and bringing some much-needed supplies.  It takes a huge network of support people backing me up, lifting me up emotionally, spiritually, and even, financially.  I’ve included a letter below that I’m sending out to everyone I know, asking for their help as I plan and train to bring aid to prostitutes in the red light district of Tel Aviv.  Please, please keep me in your thoughts and prayers.  These trips are difficult, emotionally draining, physically exhausting – but worth all the blood, sweat, and tears that we pour out.  We go and bring hope to those in despair, bring food to the hungry, medicine to the sick, and joy to the downcast.  It all matters.  Thank you for hearing me out and God bless.

Friends & Family:

I hope this letter finds you all well.

When I was nineteen years old I spent 6 months working with Youth With A Mission, a non-profit organization, in Oregon, Thailand, and Cambodia.  Our time in Southeast Asia was spent working in slums, orphanages, teaching English, and seeking to bring humanitarian aid and relief to people in need.  My heart was touched and life was changed.  I have since committed myself to make at least one aid trip each year.

The purpose of this is twofold.  These trips are a way to change the world – one life at a time, one encounter in a moment.  Bringing aid through food, medical supplies, and even emotional support can change lives.  And the second purpose is that these trips keep my own heart open and compassionate to the struggles of people around the world.

I am passionate about ending the practices of human trafficking and forced prostitution around the world.  Furthermore, my heart goes out to those who live in the midst of the conflict in the Middle East.  I’ve learned of a short-term humanitarian trip to Tel Aviv, Israel coming up in November of this year.  I’ve joined a team that is training to go into the red light district of Tel Aviv and work in a safe house for Russian and Ethiopian prostitutes.  We will be bringing personal medical kits to these women who live on the street, in addition to providing aid to drug addicts in the region.  The team is organized through my church, North County Christ The King.  So far we consist of about 8 team members, of which I hope to be numbered.

I dearly covet your prayers and emotional support at this time while my team prepares to go out.  If any of you would also feel lead to support me financially, I would very much appreciate it.  The cost of this trip is $2500.00.  I don’t have the necessary funds to go at this time.  If you would like to help me get to Israel, your tax-deductible donation checks can be made out to North County Christ The King with my name in the memo.  I’m excited to partner with you all in this.

I’ve included my contact information if any of you would like to learn more about the trip.  Please be in prayer for me about this.  Thank you all so much.

God bless,

Audrey Johnson

audreygjohnson@gmail.com

Jerusalem

15 comments on “A Request, A Letter

  1. sj
    September 10, 2012

    I wish I could help out financially right now, but you’ll definitely be in my prayers, Audrey! Good luck!

    • Audrey
      September 12, 2012

      Thank you so much! I know the financials are tight for a lot of people, but knowing I’ve got a cheer squad helps immensely too. Appreciate you, lady!

  2. whatimeant2say
    September 10, 2012

    I think I sent you some. Let me know if you don’t get it. You’ll know it’s from me 😉

    • whatimeant2say
      September 11, 2012

      It’s through PayPal, by the way.

      • Audrey
        September 11, 2012

        I got it, thank you so much!!!

      • whatimeant2say
        September 11, 2012

        Hooray! I can’t believe it worked! I’ve never done it that way!

      • Audrey
        September 12, 2012

        You totally made my day, I can’t even tell you how much it means to me. Thank you!! And I’m totally impressed with your internet prowess, by the way!

      • whatimeant2say
        September 12, 2012

        I can’t cook, but I do know my way around technology. I’m hoping to someday just be able to order the technology to cook.

  3. ethelthedean
    September 10, 2012

    You are such a phenomenal young woman. You are in my heart, both now and as you navigate this journey. I will see what I can do to make sure that you get this chance to change the world, because goodness knows the world needs someone like you.

    • Audrey
      September 12, 2012

      Ethel, mi amiga, you’ve encouraged so much with this. Thank you!!

  4. Pingback: Photo Fridays: Weight of the World | Dangerously Daydreaming

  5. captainariel
    September 17, 2012

    I’ll help in any way I can, gorgeous 😀 I Love You ❤

  6. Pingback: A Place To Call Home | Dangerously Daydreaming

  7. Pingback: Photo Fridays: The Holy Land | Dangerously Daydreaming

  8. Pingback: Down To The Wire | Dangerously Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

