Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Labor(less) Day Adventures

Still on a high from the fun of Labor Day weekend, I wanted to share a bit more of it.

First, there was the Sunday afternoon barbecue with J’s family.  These cozy gatherings always seem to include tasty food and a game of wiffle ball baseball.  It’s meant to be a silly, fun, and non-competitive game where we all laugh at each other.  Have I told you guys how athletically inept I am?  No?  Painfully so…  And the worst part – I’m TERRIBLY competitive.  It’s just Bad News Bears to be competitive and lacking in hand/eye coordination.  J was a jock in high school and his nieces and nephews all play like champs too.  So you can imagine how the game went.  J has promised that he will teach me some basic baseball skills so I can be more prepared for the next game.  I have neglected to post photos of this event for obvious reasons, but I do hope you’re all getting a laugh at my expense.  🙂

Monday was glorious!  Partly because I had the day off, but mostly because I got to spend the day with my lovely sister-in-law and sweet niece, baby Emily.  This is SIL’s first visit to the Pacific Northwest and she had yet to explore the environs of Seattle so I rushed her off to Seattle’s unforgettable Pike Place Market.  The sun was shining, the streets were crowded.  Sounds of performers and entertainers with their guitars, harmonicas, and portable pianos filled the air.  The market smelled of seafood, flowers, and exotic spices.  One of the fruit vendors offered us a slice of the best peach I’ve ever had – no joke.  Pike’s Place is THE place to get fruit.  We wandered through shops that caught our interest – a magic shop, a lavender stand, and another shop smelling of incense with trinkets from around the world.

A few hours later and our tummies were rumbling.  We trekked through Post Alley looking for a fun and casual restaurant to lunch at.  A sign for Kell’s Irish Pub and Restaurant arrested my eye and we had our destination at last.  I’ve been wanting to go to Kell’s for a while now.  We settled in, ordered Irish Stew and salad, and people watched.  The restaurant was everything I would expect from a pub of such notoriety – dark wood walls, excellent beer and whiskey offering (even though I drink neither), the owner was an Irish grandmotherly sort with a heavy brogue, and the staff was perfectly attentive.  SIL and I got the chance to visit more and talked about how we would have to plan a double date to bring our respective men to Kell’s because they’d love it.

Satiated and back out in the sunshine, we continued our wander down Post Alley.  The plan was to head back to my Jeep and call it a day but we were distracted by a sign for wine tasting.  The Tasting Room boasts the finest selection of Washington wines.  And I think they held that boast up well.  We opted to be safe and split a tasting of 3 fabulous wines.  The viognier won both of our taste buds over and I ended up bring a bottle home with me.  I plan to send a bottle to SIL when she gets back home to Tennessee too.

Darling Emily won over hearts wherever she went.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a genuinely happy baby.  She smiled freely and laughed often.  At each stop we made the owners of the venues would have to stop and chat with her, just to elicit a grin.  And me?  I’m head-over-heels for my beautiful niece.

With that, our day was done, and a rich, full day it was.  I feel so blessed to have spent time with my precious SIL and sweet niece.  SIL has fast become the sister I never had.

And now you have a few recommendations should you ever visit Seattle.  Pike’s Place for fruit and just for the experience, Kell’s for stew and ambiance, and The Tasting Room for wine and more wine.

4 comments on “Labor(less) Day Adventures

  1. whatimeant2say
    September 6, 2012

    What a wonderful weekend!

  2. Brian Westbye
    September 6, 2012

    My Second Home!

  3. ethelthedean
    September 6, 2012

    THAT IS ONE CUTE BABEH. Ahem. Seriously though, adorable!

    Love this, love that you are competitive (just like me!) but can also laugh at yourself. 🙂 This was an absolute treat to read – glad you had such a lovely weekend!
    xx

    • Audrey
      September 12, 2012

      It’s she a sweetheart?!

      Oh my gosh, it was bad… You would have laughed too! 🙂 We really are a couple of peas in a pod.

Leave a Reply

