Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Photo Fridays: Swedish Summer

Today’s photo is one of my favorites from my first stint with international travel.  Just after graduating high school, I went on a senior trip to Sweden and Russia.  This is a shot taken when I was touring Stockholm, a truly beautiful and picturesque city.  Happy Friday!

4 comments on “Photo Fridays: Swedish Summer

  1. odilets
    September 1, 2012

    That’s super awesome!!:) Did your parents just allow you to go on whatever trip you wanted after High school?
    I haven’t even graduated…but I have a feeling my parents won’t let me be alone haha..
    How were the people and the culture?
    Thanks for sharing!

    • Audrey
      September 5, 2012

      It was a trip with my high school Foreign Language Club. I’d spend all year learning Russian and Spanish and joined up with the group. We had to fundraise like crazy for it, but so worth it.
      I wouldn’t travel alone internationally, it can be really unsafe. A good bet is to go with a group, or at least meet up with locals in the area so they can tell you where is safe to visit and tour. I really hope you get the chance to do some traveling!
      The people are very kind, warm and welcoming. And the culture – it’s so different from our own. They’re still recuperating from the Stalin era in some ways. The big cities have a very European vibe – trendy, fast-paced.
      So glad you stopped by to visit!

      • odilets
        September 5, 2012

        I hope I’ll one day achieve that dream! Right now, it seems so far from my reach haha
        I’ve heard Stockholm is very trendy and fashionable:) Someone told me it’s the Paris of the North.:)
        That’s great to hear that they are nice:)!
        What was something that shocked you of the Swedish culture?
        Thanks so much btw!

      • Audrey
        September 12, 2012

        Stockholm is very trendy, and a beautiful city. It’s great to walk around and just marvel at the architecture, the cleanliness, and the briliant colors. Sorry, for a moment there I had thought you were asking about Russia. 🙂
        Something that shocked me is how compact everyone lives in Europe. The beds are smell, the hotel rooms are small, the vehicles, the streets. They have learned the art of fitting into small spaces, a lot like New York!
        Hang on to the dream, I really hope it happens soon for you. After high school is a great time for a trip overseas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

