Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

An Earlier Heaven

“A happy family is but an earlier heaven.” ~ George Bernard Shaw

My mom is in the area for a quick visit (her visits are always too quick, regardless of their length).  She brought along my sister-in-law and niece from Tennessee so they could finally meet our family here in Washington before traveling on to spend a month in Alaska with her.  Yesterday J and I got to invite them all out for dinner.

My SIL has been married to my brother (the one going to Afghanistan) for nearly a year now so I was thrilled to meet her at long last.  She was immediately endearing – about my height (an impressive 5’1″), had a sweet and genuine smile, and soft southern drawl.  I can see why my brother fell in love with her.  And I love that I finally have a sister!

And I got to meet sweet baby Emily!  Ever since her birth I’ve been yearning to hold her in my arms, to look on her precious face, and make of fool of myself cooing at her.  She’s only 5 1/2 months old and already in 12 mo clothes!  She’s tall and could put the Michelin Man to shame with her adorable baby rolls.  I know I’m considered biased, but she is seriously the most sweet-tempered little girl I’ve met.  Even when she was frustrated or tired, there was no wailing, just a baby shout to voice her displeasure and she was done.  And each time she was spoken to she would burst into jubilant smiles.  She’s as ticklish as I am, and sounds like a mini machine gun when she laughs.  Obviously, I’m already head-over-heels for the little charmer.  Emily has her mother’s beautiful smile, eye shape, and sweetness of heart.  And she has my brother’s brilliant blue eyes, nose, and boisterous laughter.  The perfect mix of two wonderful people.  The water works couldn’t be stopped when I first held Emily.  And now she’s captured my heart.

And seeing my mama again?  She’s the most genuinely kind and loving person I know, my model of selflessness and patience.  We got to laugh as she shared stories of the antics of both of my brothers when she saw them last week, shared silent sadness when she told me of having to put down my old and ailing dog, and glowed in the joy that little Emily and sweet SIL have brought to us.  I probably won’t get to see her again before she leaves – and even if I could, it still wouldn’t be enough to keep me from missing her when she’s gone.  I’ll see her next in the spring or summer.  I love these visits, but they’re always bittersweet.

SIL and Emily will be in the area a bit longer so I have plans of spending some of the long weekend with them, maybe showing them the highlights of Seattle.  Yesterday was a memory worth treasuring though.  A bit of heaven come early.

7 comments on “An Earlier Heaven

  1. whatimeant2say
    August 29, 2012

    Emily is beautiful – and I am not biased at all!

    • Audrey
      September 5, 2012

      I’m glad it’s not just me then! I was out and about with her the other day and she was breaking hearts left and right with her sweet smiles. 🙂

  2. Chicken Nuggets and Elmo
    August 29, 2012

    She’s adorable. Enjoy your visit with them!

    • Audrey
      September 5, 2012

      Thank you! We had such a wonderful time together!

  3. ethelthedean
    August 31, 2012

    What a cutie pie! That is one sweet babe. Reading about your mum makes my heart twinge for my own. She sounds like a truly amazing lady – and as well she must, she helped raise you after all!
    xx

    • Audrey
      September 5, 2012

      She’s stolen my heart already!
      I bet you would love my mama. And your mama sounds like a rad lady too! Where does she live and do you get to see her often?

  4. captainariel
    September 17, 2012

    I met them in church the other day 😀 they do both have beautiful smiles

Leave a Reply

