Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Photo Fridays: Farewell, Soldier

It’s a week for thinking of my brothers, both serving in the Army, both with big reassignments this week.  At midnight tonight, the older of my two “little” brothers ships out for his second tour of Afghanistan.  I got to chat with him last night and say our goodbyes.  He was able to enjoy the evening with his wife (of not quite one year) and daughter (just 5 months old).  Being in a family way makes this whole 9 month leavetaking so much more difficult.  It saddens me to see his wife have be strong as a “single mom” while he’s away, to know he’ll miss seeing his daughter’s first steps, hearing her first words.  There are scores of loved ones hoping that he comes home safely.  So instead of letting all of this bring me down, I’ll send up a prayer whenever he comes to mind, whenever I hear from his wife, and whenever I see photos of my precious niece.

Farewell and safe returns, my darling brother.  You are on our minds and hearts each day you are gone, and we anxiously await the day you come home.  May you be filled with comfort, strength, and wisdom.  May you be resolved in your commitment to your family, your brothers-in-arms, and your country.  Your leadership and sacrifice are a resounding example to those around you.  I’m proud, I’m blessed, and I’m honored to be your sister.  All my love.

7 comments on “Photo Fridays: Farewell, Soldier

  1. ethelthedean
    August 24, 2012

    Big, big love.
    xx

    • Audrey
      August 29, 2012

      He’s very loved and very missed.
      Thanks, lady!

  2. whatimeant2say
    August 24, 2012

    You both have the same beautiful eyes! Safe travel, Soldier!

    • Audrey
      August 29, 2012

      Thank you! I’m sure I’ll be posting updates as I hear from him.

  3. pegoleg
    August 27, 2012

    God bless both your brothers for their service, and keep them safe in His loving embrace.

  4. BrainRants
    September 6, 2012

    Hey Audrey, I sent you a note about this post… heads up!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 24, 2012 by in Dreams, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
