Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

The Wilder West

Last week was a blur of chaos, fun, and very long days.  In the words of my lovely coworker, A, “There has been blood, sweat, but a surprising lack of tears”.  My company had all of our executives visiting from out-of-town, so there were meetings, meetings, and… oh yes, meetings.  Which means that us happy little assistants bustle around like shoe elves and make it all happen and run smoothly from behind the scenes.  Oh, but there was more than just a few meetings.  There was also a huge company party to plan, decorate, and host.  That party planning was the sum of my life for the whole of Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday (which could explain my WordPress withdrawal symptoms).

Let me just preface by saying that I love to plan, organize, and decorate.  I was in my happy place last week.  We had decided on a country/western theme for this party to celebrate the company’s successes thus far for 2012.  What could be more celebratory than Stetsons, spurs, and a mechanical bull?  Yes, you read that correctly – A, in all her brilliance, managed to secure a mechanical bull for our party.  It was a hit!  So now that we had the crew excited about the impending bull riding, it was down to the nitty gritty of decorating.

And herein lies the challenge of throwing a western themed party – how to make it fun and even give a little over-the-top country feel without making it too closely resemble the cowgirl-themed party my mom threw me for my 8th birthday.  From the feedback I’ve been getting, it was a huge success!

The party had some Texas-style BBQ catering, checkered table clothes, boots, faux barbed wire, and even the unforgettable game of chicken $h!t bingo that I’ve played once before.  Most of our employees went all out and dressed in their best Maverick-inspired duds.  This was J’s first foray into a work event in my life and he enjoyed himself thoroughly.

And now, to answer questions from the press:

  • Yes, I rode the mechanical bull.
  • No, I didn’t stay on for the longest time.
  • Yes, I was VERY sore on Saturday from that fateful ride.
  • Yes, the chicken got home safe and sound.
  • Oh, and I missed you all terribly, so Happy Monday, amigos!

 

8 comments on “The Wilder West

  1. Curly Carly
    August 20, 2012

    Sounds like fun! Those of us who are awful at planning parties are grateful for people like you!

    • Audrey
      August 23, 2012

      It was a great time! Deal, I’ll keep doing what I do best so long as people like you keep coming out for the fun!

  2. The Good Greatsby
    August 21, 2012

    At my last mechanical bull party I was certain I would stay on the longest but it was harder than it looked.

    • Audrey
      August 23, 2012

      Me too! It looks like it should be WAY easier than it is. The only thing that gave me a ‘leg up’ (pun totally intended) on the competition was my years of horse back riding. Did you have a good time at least?

  3. ethelthedean
    August 21, 2012

    I adore you. That is all.

    • Audrey
      August 23, 2012

      And I you! This made me smile, thanks Lady!

  4. whatimeant2say
    August 21, 2012

    You are simply amazing!

    • Audrey
      August 23, 2012

      Why, thank you! I think you’re pretty great too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

