Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Maui Escape

Laugh if you want, I still have yet to unpack from my trip to Maui last week.  And tomorrow J and I are off to another adventure: camping in Wenatchee.  Plans include J’s state softball tournament, hiking, running, and swimming in the Columbia River, much camping relaxation, grilling of grub, and drinking of wine and cider!  It’s a busy summer, but a truly wonderful one.

But back to Maui.  Maui was heavenly!  I’ve been to the island of Oahu twice, but this was my first time on Maui and I think I prefer the quiet of Ka’anapali Beach to the hustle and busyness of Waikiki.  I got to travel and stay with some really awesome girl friends.  We laughed, played, ate, and enjoyed our time together thoroughly!  It was an amazing trip.

The daily routine was blissful.  I’d wake up early, before the sun crested the West Maui Mountains and go for a run or walk along the beach for a half hour.  Then it was off to a breakfast of Kona coffee and fresh fruit: pineapples (Maui gold ,as the locals call it), honey-dew melons, cantaloupe, and the juiciest of watermelons.  Most mornings I packed a bag for the beach: a fun book, a bottle of water, a bit of sunscreen, and I was ready for the day.

Around noon the sun would be so intense that we couldn’t help but rush out into the crashing waves and cool down.  I always forget how easy it is to float in salt water, swimming in the river this weekend will be a shock!  Late afternoons called for my daily guava smoothie, and they are fantastic.  And then by late afternoon we’d shower and dress for a dinner out.

Then there were the days to go out and explore!  Like going to the other end of the island early in the morning to snorkel.  We swam with the waking sea turtles, met a few baby barracuda, disrupted schools of fish, and explored underwater reef arches!  Another day I went with some friends in nearby Lahaina Town where we walked the main strip along the wharf, dined on delicious fish tacos, and poked our heads into the busy surf shops.

I had the rare pleasure of introducing my travel buddies to the wonderful world of Hawaiian shave ice!  Oh, I could sing of the glories of shave ice.  This is no snow cone, my friends, oh no.  It is sweet, syrupy, sugary bliss built on a foundation of delectable ice cream and beans.  Yes, you heard that right, beans.  Full disclosure: I couldn’t quite sell the idea of eating azuki beans with ice cream and shave ice to my comrades-in-dessert, try as I did.  The beans remind me of the Boston Baked Bean candies that I used to eat as a kid, but these are soft and sweet, more of a canned pinto bean texture.  I’m not selling you on this either, am I?  Anyway, be brave, go to Hawaii and promise me you will eat shave ice with ice cream and azuki beans at least once.  It could quite possibly change your life.

The recap: Maui was fantastic and truly unforgettable!  I plan to be back.  J and I are starting to plan our own trip to Hawaii next summer, going with his family and a great group of friends.  I’m dreaming of a beach house on the Northshore of Oahu for that trip.  But for now, to the wonderful people and beautiful island of Maui I say “Mahalo” (Thank you) and “A Hui Hou” (Until we meet again).

12 comments on “A Maui Escape

  1. storiesbywilliams
    August 2, 2012

    Grrrrr! Stop you’re bragging, woman!

    • Audrey
      August 2, 2012

      Gees…. sounds like *someone* needs to take a trip to Hawaii and relax. 😉 Do you have any summer vacations planned?

      • storiesbywilliams
        August 2, 2012

        Yep! A walking trip along the Sunshine Coast followed by a sojourn in the Comox Valley. These geographic references obscure enough for ya?

      • Audrey
        August 2, 2012

        I know of the Sunshine Coast, ah, a pang of envy! That sounds like a great trip. And I’ll have to check out the Comox Valley now just out of curiosity. 🙂

  2. whatimeant2say
    August 2, 2012

    That really is paradise, isn’t it? I must go there some time!

    • Audrey
      August 9, 2012

      Do it! It’s such a beautiful place. You’d love it, I’m sure!

  3. ethelthedean
    August 2, 2012

    What an amazing trip! Beautiful photos and it’s so cool to hear that you are already planning the next trip. I highly recommend you do the beach house/north shore trip – that was what we did when we were there and it was sublime! Oooer, excited for you already!!
    xx

    • Audrey
      August 9, 2012

      Where did you guys stay on the Northshore? And any plans to return? I was near Haleiwa and fell in love with that cute little town! I think J and I might do a solo trip to Kauai and the the grass huts on the beach thing over there too. The best of both worlds!

  4. She's a Maineiac
    August 6, 2012

    Looks like heaven. It’s been a lifelong dream of mine to go there. Maybe someday!

    • Audrey
      August 6, 2012

      It’s certainly a slice of paradise. I hope you get to go there, it’s well worth the trek from Maine!!

  5. The Good Greatsby
    August 6, 2012

    Beautiful photos. Reminds me I could use a vacation.

    • Audrey
      August 9, 2012

      Any vacations planned before the summer is over?

Leave a Reply

