Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

The Dog Days of Running

It’s like climbing a cargo net after running several miles – challenging.

Training for the Bellingham Bay Half Marathon continues!  And it’s been toastier than I’m used to for the late afternoon runs.  Monday nearly did me in…  With sweat streaming down my back, into my eyes, and dampening my curly locks – it’s an aspect of summer that I’d forgotten about.  That or last summer wasn’t very warm.

Now you might be all smart and suggest that I beat the heat by running in the mornings instead.  But we’ve discussed my inability to function in any great capacity before 10 am.  My coworkers even know this and avoid asking me anything complicated until after lunch time.  Any such attempt at a morning run would find me in a dead sleep on the concrete sidewalk about a mile from my house.  Besides, running in 80 degrees with humidity is a good challenge.  Yes, all you across the U.S. with your heat waves – 80 degrees has us poor Washingtonians just about melting off the sidewalk when we run.  You may commence your laughter and jeering now.  Thanks for that…

Anyway, I’m learning that there really are good days and bad days when it comes to pursuing goals.  Monday was a bad one for running, it was rough.  And Tuesday I was so sore I could barely walk up and down stairs.  Some days you can’t catch your breath, no matter how much you slow your pace.  The gasping, the dragging of feet, the joint pain – it’s an uphill battle with each step.  Some days the heat makes you dizzy, nauseous, and your stomach feels like it’s caving in on itself.  Or the rain makes you want to run inside a find the fuzziest blanket to curl up in.

But the feeling of accomplishment is priceless!

But the good days are worth it all.  The days that you feel powerful with every stride, when your lungs feel full of life instead of plain ol’ oxygen, you move with the strength and precision of a well-oiled machine, and you finish your route to find that you’ve improved your run time by a whole minute.  Those days are the reason I still run and push through the other days.  So here we go for another round and it’s going to be awesome!

What have you guys been challenging yourselves with lately?  And how do you push through the rough days?

8 comments on “The Dog Days of Running

  1. The Byronic Man
    July 18, 2012

    I’m training for a half marathon right now, too. I ran most of the course a couple days ago and… yikes. All hills, some of it actually treacherous. Not going to be setting any speed records.

    Also hurt my knee, which is frustrating. Probably on one of the rocky, twisty bits. Nothing serious, I don’t think.

    • Audrey
      July 22, 2012

      It sounds brutal! I’m guessing it’s coming up pretty soon here? Take it easy on those legs and hope you’re back in action soon!

  2. sj
    July 18, 2012

    That picture of you climbing the net is SO CUTE!

    • Audrey
      July 22, 2012

      Haha, oh thank you! It makes me laugh that that’s my “determined” face. 🙂

  3. ethelthedean
    July 18, 2012

    Great, great post. This piece totally resonates with me. Some days (particularly very hot days) can be total slogs, and I really need to grind it out.

    For me it’s all about getting tough mentally, making sure I am prepared to make it through to the end, and focusing completely on what I need to do to get there. It can be hard, but heck if it doesn’t feel good when you make it.

    I love, love the photos of you in the tutu. Too fab for words!
    xx

    • Audrey
      July 22, 2012

      It really is a head game, isn’t it? Something about just decided what you want to accomplish and your body will do (almost) anything its told.

      Nothing beats you and M doing Tough Mudder – so so awesome!!!

  4. whatimeant2say
    July 18, 2012

    I have been challenging myself to walk in ballet shoes – not quite as demanding as climbing in a tutu!

    • Audrey
      July 22, 2012

      Is that as bad as learning to walk in high heels? Although toe shoes have got to be WAY worse than any old’ running shoes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

