Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Of Bingo, Brides, Soccer, and Sunshine

Coming to you from what is now the sunny and warm Pacific Northwest!

How was your weekend??

Mine was crazy busy, per the usual, and oh, so much fun.  J’s sister got married on Saturday so he had an early start going to her house for set up.  They roasted a pig, yes, a whole pig that had to be on the spit by 8 am for the afternoon barbecue.  I had more of an easy morning – whipped up some huevos rancheros for breakfast (recipe will be posted tomorrow, don’t miss it!) and found a fun summer dress to don for the festivities.

The ceremony was beautiful, and I have to admit I teared up a bit.  It was a cozy, country affair with family and close friends gathered on the lawn in the late morning sun.  J’s sister was stunning and her groom was enthralled.  The reception was a chance to meet some of J’s more distant relatives.  And by the afternoon, we were gearing up for 200+ people to join us for a pig-roasting bbq!  One of the highlights of the afternoon for me was winning a wedding game – please excuse the name: Chicken Shit Bingo.  On a 4’x8′ plywood board, squares are taped off and numbered 1-128.  A bookie goes around to the wedding guests and lets them purchase squares for a dollar each.  Then a chicken is placed on the board and if it takes a crap on the square you bid on – you win!  The winner splits the pot with the happy couple.  So you guessed it!  The chicken crapped on my square.  I was handed a stack of dollar bills and just had to take a picture with my friend who won the second round.  I’m really not that gangster, but I think having that roll of cash in my hand got to my head for a bit there…

I will say that going to buy groceries the following morning I felt a little silly as I paid out in single bills.  And it took a long time…

Sunday was my chance to get away with the girls!  I hadn’t seen some of these lovely ladies for several months.  I met “Jasmine” for a tasty lunch of Thai food and we wandered the stores in historic Fairhaven for an afternoon.  And then I was off like a rocket to meet some other lady friends at the Bellingham United soccer game.  This is the first year that Bellingham has their own soccer club and the Bellingham Hammers rose to take 2nd place in the championship this year!  Community pride at it’s best.  We cheered them to a 4-0 victory.  And then it was time to chat over a happy hour cocktail and appetizer with a view of Squalicum Harbor.

The weekend really was grand – full of fun, friends, and unforgettable moments.

4 comments on “Of Bingo, Brides, Soccer, and Sunshine

  1. ethelthedean
    July 16, 2012

    Oh em gee. That is hilarious and totally awesome about the bingo! I am actually laughing out loud thinking about it. You are very rolling with hommies with your giant wad of sweet cashola.

    What a lovely weekend! Congrats to J’s sisters and to your home town team – I so look forward to Mondays so I get to hear all about your fabulous weekend adventures.
    xx

    • Audrey
      July 17, 2012

      The bingo game was seriously hysterical! We had people crowded around the pen for 10 minutes at a time waiting for the poor nervous chicken to poop!
      It’s funny because I feel the same way about Monday’s and getting to see your awesome weekend photos and hear what you were up to. Hugs, lady!

  2. whatimeant2say
    July 17, 2012

    I. CANNOT. BELIEVE. I. HAVE. NEVER. HEARD. OF. CHICKENSHIT. BINGO! WTF?!!!! Surely they must play that here in Texas some where, but I’ve lived here for 25 years, and never seen it. Congrats on your winnings!

    • Audrey
      July 17, 2012

      I’m shocked!! I figured you might actually be in the know on this one! If you ever need proof that I went to a country wedding, this is it, right? J keeps telling me he’s a redneck and I’m finally starting to believe him…. Next wedding you go to now you can start the trend!

Leave a Reply

