Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Weekend Snapshots

We’ve got all out sunshine in these parts at long last!  I know the rest of the country is suffering from an intolerable heat wave right now, but here in the great Northwest we had wondered if the golden talisman you all call a sunshine had just dropped out of the sky to leave us with rain and more rain.  Summer has arrived though so I’m doing a happy dance!  In my brand new running shoes, I might add.

This weekend was full of busy comings and goings and some super delicious eats.  On Saturday morning J and I headed to my favorite area in Bellingham, the historic Fairhaven district.  The sun was shining happily while buildings of worn brick cast their cooling shadows over the equally worn brick streets.  We traipsed down the sidewalk while the scent of flowers from the local florist stirred in the breeze, and the heady aroma of coffee overtook my senses when we passed a coffee shop.  Our stop was Fairhaven Runners.  The more that J and I trained for the Bellingham Bay Half Marathon, the more we realized that we were both desperately in need of new running shoes.  So we went to the experts.  The staff watched how we walked, ran, asked all the right questions and fitted us with some new runners that are perfect!

Then it was lunch time and sandwiches were on my mind so we went to my favorite: Avenue Bread.  A dill pickle on the side of a toasted gluten-free turkey sandwich in their little shop with windows overlooking the bay, and a beautiful caramel latte in a mug – I was in heaven!  And that’s not just any turkey sandwich – crispy tomatoes, crunchy lettuce, flavorful onions, AND jalapeño cream cheese – oh yes, it was grand.

I dropped J off at the golf course for a day with a guys, ran some errands in the sunshine, until it was time to relax.  Pure Bliss was my stop so I blitzed my introverted self over there with a good book to indulge in a coconut macaroon and a glass of champagne.

This summer is flying by and full of busy, fun weekends, but Saturday was the perfect chance to wind down and enjoy the moment.

What did you do this weekend?

6 comments on “Weekend Snapshots

  1. ethelthedean
    July 9, 2012

    I LOVE your runners! I too use Asics, and in my (very humble) opinion they are totes mcgotes the best.

    That sammie looks deeelish, and I totally dig your champagne/macaroon/book combo. That is bliss incarnate!

    The sun is shinning like mad here too, thank goodness!

    • Audrey
      July 17, 2012

      I took them out for their first major run yesterday and love them!!
      If you ever make a stop through Bellingham, you’ll have to check out Pure Bliss. You’d seriously be in love with the place! And I’d meet you there!

  2. whatimeant2say
    July 9, 2012

    Your Pure Bliss trek sounds exactly like the way I would love to spend my time!

    • Audrey
      July 17, 2012

      It was a much needed chance to relax. If you’re ever in the area… 🙂

  3. WSW
    July 10, 2012

    Just one cookie and one glass of bubbly? you are a tower of restraint, Audrey.

    • Audrey
      July 17, 2012

      It was quite a battle to behave myself! 😉

Leave a Reply

