Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Holy Guacamole

Independence Day is tomorrow!  And I’ve got the perfect accompaniment to all those potato salads, burgers, other grill food.  Maybe it’s because of the Mexican heritage but a day on the deck with the bbq doesn’t seem complete to me without guacamole and tortilla chips (and some carne asada, Coronas, and tequila… but mostly its about the guac).  It’s a summer staple at my house now, good thing J likes it.  So here it is, full flavored, easy, and oh, so delicious!

What you need:

  • 4 avocados
  • 1 roma tomato – diced
  • 1/2 small sweet yellow onion – chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic – pressed
  • 1/2 head cilantro – chopped
  • juice of one lime
  • 1/2 tbsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tbsp chili powder

What you do:

Remove the pit and peal of the avocados and place the avocado meat in a bowl.  Mash with a fork until no large chunks remain.  Add lime juice, sea salt, and chili powder.  Combine tomatoes, garlic, onion, and cilantro in garlic mixture and stir well.

Serve with tortilla chips and enjoy!

(In the photo below, I topped some carne asada tacos with the guacamole, it goes great on burgers too!)

6 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Holy Guacamole

  1. Stuff I Can't Post
    July 3, 2012

    Hooray! I was looking for a good guac recipe! Again, you read my mind. 🙂 Thanks darlin!!

    • Audrey
      July 3, 2012

      It’s perfect for tomorrow!! I’m so glad our timing worked out! Totally planned that… 😉

  2. whatimeant2say
    July 3, 2012

    Thanks! I have also been looking for a great guac recipe. I have really been craving it lately. Yummm!

  3. ethelthedean
    July 3, 2012

    Seriously, all your food makes me drool. And yes, I do eat fish – and I would eat it with these too!
    xx

  4. susartandfood
    July 5, 2012

    Looks perfect – having company this weekend – I’ll give it a try

    • Audrey
      July 17, 2012

      I hope it turned out great for you! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2012 by in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
