Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Ready to Run!

It’s time to put it out there for the world to know.  I’m nervous but here we go.

I’m going to run The Bellingham Bay Half Marathon on September 30th!  My first half marathon ever.  This whole thing seems a little crazy to me.  Me running a half marathon?  Heck, me running a half anything would have been unthinkable around this time last year.  I’m excited and a bit anxious.

So here we go into summer training.  My goal is to run every other day so I can give my body a chance to recover.  On the off days I’ll cycle, hike, walk, rock climb, basically get out and do something other than running.  Right now I’m able to run 4 miles consistently but that mileage will have to get up to 13 in 3 months time.  Very do-able but takes commitment to the goal.  This will be my 5th 90 Day Challenge!

The food plan is in place, I eat every 2-3 hours to keep my metabolism running.  Body by Vi protein shakes for breakfast and lunch, mid-morning and mid-afternoon snacks of fruits and veggies with a protein source thrown in like almonds.  And then a tasty, healthy dinner.  2 litres of water per day, minimum.

All of this is stuff I already do for the most part, but not consistently.  Training mode means that I’ll have to make this routine.  The more we expect from our bodies, the better we have to treat them.  And it makes such a difference!  So now it’s out there, wish me luck and I’ll keep ya’ll posted on the progress!

Now I need me some street runners. Over the past year I’ve been strictly a trail runner. Running was a chore for me, and one that I loathed. Running along my favorite hiking trails somehow made it more bearable though. It’s so beautiful in my corner of Washington so my mind was always busy enjoying the views, navigating over rooted paths, and hearing only my own footfalls mingled with the forest sounds. But now I think I’ve caught the running bug. I still prefer the trails, but now the road isn’t so terrible – I get a thrill from running now, trail or street. Except that I don’t have the right shoes for it. So it’s off to buy some comfy, cushy street runners within the next week.

I’m ready to run!

Running my first 5k, the Warrior Dash (July 2011).

9 comments on “Ready to Run!

  1. ethelthedean
    June 27, 2012

    DUDETTE. That photo is epic. EPIC!

    So awesome to hear about this next challenge – I have no doubt you will own it like a boss. I would recommend keeping one day for rest (this was usually Sunday for me when I was training for my halfs) – does a body good to heal up for a day!

    Keep us posted as you continue on this with adventure – I can’t wait to read more about it!

    • Audrey
      July 3, 2012

      They got some awesome shots at the Warrior Dash last year! 🙂 Almost look badass!

      Hey if you have any tips whatsoever, throw them at me. You are my Yoda! I’ll definitely take you up on resting Sundays, that just sounds healthy and smart.

  2. captainariel
    June 27, 2012

    crazy! I’m going to try to do a half marathon for my next challenge too! :D….mine’s in August though….don’t know what I’m getting myself into! lol

    • Audrey
      July 3, 2012

      Dang, girl! You must be so far into training!! How’s it going?

      • captainariel
        August 10, 2012

        Still trying to do it :/ my knee’s been bothering me a bit. And asthma’s a …curse lol. But I still want to try it, even if I walk the whole way. That’s better than not doing it.

  3. The Byronic Man
    June 28, 2012

    I just did my first half-marathon this last weekend! It was pretty fun, really. You definitely break through, training-wise. I know those schedules have you running 4-5 times a week, but I think like you do – you need days off. I usually run 3 times a week: a short run with hills, a medium run, and a long run.

    • Audrey
      July 3, 2012

      How did you like it? Any wisdom to share? 🙂
      Yeah, I can’t imagine running that much, my joints would want to murder me. The short, medium, and long runs seem really manageable too, I’ll have to incorporate that into the training. Thanks!!

  4. whatimeant2say
    June 28, 2012

    What kind of crazy 5K was that Warrior Dash? Were they trying to kill you?

    • Audrey
      July 3, 2012

      Oh you know – a little fire, a little barbed wire, a little mud – no big deal… 😉 Actually I remember hoping and praying my short little legs would be able to span that jump. Yeesh!

Leave a Reply

