Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Big Fat Mexican Wedding

Have you ever seen “My Big Fat Greek Wedding”?

If you haven’t, it’s a pretty cute flick and definitely a fun one to check out.  If you have seen it, then you will know EXACTLY what I mean when I say that it sums up my own family nicely – except instead of Greek my family is Mexican.

My mom has 5 sisters and her only brother is the youngest.  We’ve got grandkids (like myself) aplenty.  There are the great-uncles visiting from California and Mexico right now.  And then the husbands of all my mom’s sisters.

Think fun, think loud, think busy, think full house.  You can just imagine my grandmother’s wedding!  For being a “family and close friends” affair we ended up having around 75 people come out.  There’s probably 50 family members alone!

Naturally we need our Mexican food.  My mom and the aunties made huge pans upon pans of delicious enchiladas, guacamole, salsa, refried beans, rice.

And the most important part?  My grandmother’s wedding was lovely!  There was hardly a dry eye in the room.  I took pictures of the ceremony from the back of the room while tears streamed down my own face and couldn’t help but see similar phenomena on my mother’s and aunts’ faces.

My grandmother was so happy, so beautifully bewitching, and so very loved.  The whole of the evening she never left her husband’s side.  They had both learned to dance for the wedding and stood up for their favorite songs.  They even dragged the rest us onto the dance floor!

The day was perfectly lovely.  And now my grandma and step-grandpa are off on their adventures together, living their happily ever after.

6 comments on “A Big Fat Mexican Wedding

  1. Stuff I Can't Post
    June 25, 2012

    HOW beautiful!!! What a lovely story! Best of luck to the happy couple!!! I love your dress by the way -you look smashing! 🙂

    • Audrey
      July 3, 2012

      It’s so sweet, I get all smiley everytime I think about them. 🙂 And thank you! Gotta love getting all dolled up for a fun evening with the family!

  2. ethelthedean
    June 25, 2012

    Just reading this choked me up! I can only imagine what it was like being there.

    A million happy wishes to your grandma and her beau – thank you for sharing this love with us 🙂

    • Audrey
      July 3, 2012

      Thank you! They are so so happy, I love it! It’s really precious. 🙂

  3. whatimeant2say
    June 28, 2012

    The little boy in the front is hysterical! What a great pic!

    • Audrey
      July 3, 2012

      Oh my gosh, my cousin? Yes, he’s always making faces – camera present or not.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2012 by in Adventure, Dreams, Family, Food, Fun, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
