Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Real Life Fairytale

Once upon a time, there was a woman who lived a little house in the forest.  She was living a full and happy life surrounded by family: so many daughters, a son, more grandchildren than she could keep track of, and even a few great-grandchildren.  Her husband of 50 years was in poor health, it had been that way for so long.  She lived as happily as she could, but watching his slow decline over the years was sad.  Caring for him was difficult and it meant that she didn’t leave her forest home as much as she would have liked.  She dreamed of travel, adventures, seeing new things.  But she loved her husband and cared for him until one day, as the summer neared its end, he passed into glory.

She was sad, how could she not have been?  She mourned his passing, and even though she was encompassed with loving family, she still felt alone.  A few months later though, life sparked.  It was as though a new life had come into her, she started to take care of herself and became more healthy.  She had always been beautiful but the new life brought a glow to her face and a spring to her step.  She was a new woman!

One day she met a man whose heart was also hurting from the loss of his beloved wife.  They spent the coming weeks together and found that they both dreamed of adventure, they both wished for someone to love and care for, and they found that in each other.  He adored her and all around could see it, her spark of life had infused his own.  He proposed to her two months after they met.  Tomorrow they wed and will live happily ever after.

I couldn’t be more jubilant because that woman is my 70-year-old grandmother.  I haven’t seen her so happy before.  She truly has a new life, a new spark, a new beauty.  I’ll be cheering and tearing up with the best of the them tomorrow as my stunning grandma embarks on a new chapter.  Photos of the blessed event will follow, I’m sure.

16 comments on “A Real Life Fairytale

  1. whatimeant2say
    June 21, 2012

    Thanks for providing the back story! What a lovely tale!

    • Audrey
      June 21, 2012

      It’s so sweet! She just glows.

      • whatimeant2say
        June 21, 2012

        I can’t wait to see the pics of the big day. I love happy stories!

      • Audrey
        June 21, 2012

        It’s going to be a wedding Mexican style! Colorful, loud, and so fun!

  2. Stuff I Can't Post
    June 21, 2012

    Audrey!!!! I sat here, tears streaming down my face… this was SO beautifully written…. I am so happy for your grandma!!! This renews my faith in life. Have a wonderful time at the ceremony and I can’t wait for the pictures!

    • Audrey
      June 21, 2012

      Her story is so inspiring and gives me hope too – all things can be new again! There’s so much joy and a peace in it all. I’ll post on the wedding soon. 🙂

  3. Robyn B.
    June 21, 2012

    soooooo lovely!! Love the 2nd time around has a special magic, of this I am convinced, having witnessed (and experienced) myself. blessings on their wedding day!

    • Audrey
      June 21, 2012

      Oh yes, Robyn, you know all about second beginnings too with your own Happily Ever After!

  4. Chicken Nuggets and Elmo
    June 21, 2012

    Congrats to Grandma! I’m glad she’s found happiness. Many blessings to her =)

    • Audrey
      June 21, 2012

      Thank you! I’m so thrilled for her, seeing her over the past 9 months has been inspiring!

  5. ethelthedean
    June 21, 2012

    Good grief – it’s raining all over my face!

    What a beautiful story. Thank you for sharing and big love to you and your grandmother!
    xx

    • Audrey
      June 21, 2012

      I’m going use that, “it’s raining all over my face”!
      She’s an amazing lady and deserves all the happiness that’s coming her way. 🙂 Thank you!!

  6. Mommy OM
    June 21, 2012

    I love this post! I hope I am as blessed when I am 70! A wonderful and inspirational story…

  7. tedstrutz
    June 22, 2012

    That is a nice tale… happy for her… and for you too.

  8. captainariel
    June 22, 2012

    Aw that’s beautiful :]

  9. lauragrai
    June 24, 2012

    Awww, this story brought a huge smile to my face. Congrats to her!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 21, 2012 by in Adventure, Dreams, Family, Relationships, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
