Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Rhubarb Chicken Stir Fry

Happy Tuesday!  I don’t think I mentioned that I’m participating in a Community Support Agriculture program this summer.  Basically what that means is that every Friday the Farmer’s Market is coming to me!  A box of locally farmed fruits and veggies gets delivered to my work place and I get the satisfaction of supporting a local farm.  Affordable and interesting to say the least, I’m having a lot of fun with it.  Learning how to cook meals based on seasonal harvests is a new horizon for me but I’m learning to love it.  Part of the challenge is that in each box I’m getting at least one veggie that I’ve never cooked with before – the culinary adventure is in full swing!   Last week I ended up with some rhubarb, fennel bulbs, and this week I’ll be playing with diacon radishes.  I’m not much of a baker and I just don’t have a sweet tooth so the rhubarb was fast becoming a conundrum.  The wide world of web browsing soon revealed that with a little bit of sugar I could simmer the rhubarb down to a mildly sweet sauce that would be great with white meats.  I also had a bag of braising mix so stir fry was the perfect meal to use those in.  I’ve heard a couple other friends say that they’re up to their ears in rhubarb so here’s a delicious way to use some of it up.

What you need (serves 4):

  • 1/2 c brown rice
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil – divided
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1 lbs chicken – cubed
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce (I found a gluten-free soy sauce called Tamari)
  • 3 handfuls braising mix (cauliflower, kale, collards, bok choy, spinach, broccoli, asparagus, etc.) – roughly chopped
  • 1 carrot – chopped
  • 3 stalks rhubarb – chopped
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 3 cloves garlic – pressed
  • soy sauce – to taste

What you do:

In a pot over high heat set water to boil for the rice.  Add 1/2 tbsp coconut oil and sea salt to water.  Add rice when water reaches a boil.

In a skillet over medium heat combine remaining coconut oil and chicken.  Add soy sauce and cook until the chicken is white and no pink remains.  Add braising mix and carrots (and any other veggies that sound tasty to you).

In a sauce pan over medium heat combine sugar and rhubarb.  Stir often to prevent sugar from burning and let cook until rhubarb is tender.  Add rhubarb to stir fry mix and mix in well.  Add ginger and garlic to stir fry mix.  Cook until vegetables are tender.

Serve over rice and enjoy!

5 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Rhubarb Chicken Stir Fry

  1. ethelthedean
    June 19, 2012

    This combination blows my mind! LOVE it. I have everything in my fridge (I will substitute the chicken for tofu) except the rhubarb, so the next time we are over at M’s parents I am stocking up.

    Ms. Iron Chef – your cuisine reigns supreme!

    • Audrey
      June 19, 2012

      It’s crazy how well it worked with the sweet and salty. That’s a perfect substitution (you always come to mind when I put these recipes up now), let me know how it turns out for you. You have a rhubarb source? Perfect!

  2. Mommy OM
    June 19, 2012

    Yum! Trying it this week! Thank you for the inspiring recipes, Audrey!

  3. whatimeant2say
    June 19, 2012

    I never thought of rhubarb as being appetizing – until I saw this!

  4. WSW
    June 20, 2012

    Ooh I love rhubarb, but I would never think to use it in a savory dish. This looks fabulous! Thanks, Audrey!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2012 by in Food, Recipes, Something New and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
