Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Ground Beef Enchiladas

My dear readers, I have failed you for what I hope is the first and last time.  I made this tasty concoction of Mexican deliciousness on Sunday and neglected to take ANY photos.  All bragging rights are lost and all bets are off.  I only hope I can convince you all of how scrumptious this meal is since I have no visual evidence.  My sincere and most humble apologies.

Enchiladas are a great meal when you have to feed a crowd. On Sunday I made two batches of this and it was just enough to go around for feeding 3 families.  And trust me on this one, it’s a fantastic dish.  This does take a bit more time and effort to put together, but thankfully it’s not complex and is well-worth the work.  I was getting rave reviews from the friends I made this for.  This recipe can be made without the meat for vegetarians, you can supplement chicken for beef if you prefer, AND it’s gluten-free!

What you need:

  • 1 lbs ground beef
  • 1 can green chilis – diced
  • juice of one lime
  • 2 roma tomatoes – diced
  • 1/2 sweet yellow onion – chopped
  • 2 jalapenos – sliced
  • 1/2 lbs cheese – shredded (mozzarella, cheddar, or pepper jack are great!)
  • 16 oz. red enchilada sauce
  • 1/2 c. sour cream
  • 3 cloves garlic – pressed
  • 12 corn tortillas
  • 1/2 head of cilantro – finely chopped
  • 1 bunch green onions – chopped
  • 1/2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tbsp paprika
  • 1/2 tbsp cayenne pepper

What you do:

Cook ground beef in a skillet over medium heat.  Add green chilis, lime juice, and spices.  Cook thoroughly and set aside in a bowl.  My vegetarian friends can substitute the ground beef with diced potatoes for a yummy alternative.

Set oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  In a large sauce pan, combine enchilada sauce, sour cream, and garlic.  Heat to a steady simmer (medium low).  Spoon sauce into a 9×13 inch glass pan – enough to cover the bottom of the pan.

Carefully (because it’s hot!) dip tortillas in the sauce pan and submerge in the enchilada sauce.  Set in glass pan and fill with beef mixture, tomatoes, onions, cheese, and jalapenos.  Roll tortilla, much like an open-ended burrito.  Repeat until pan is lined with stuffed tortillas.  Spoon remaining enchilada sauce over the stuffed tortillas and then generously spread shredded cheese over top.

Cook for 20 minutes in the oven.  Remove from oven and garnish with cilantro and green onions.  Cook in the oven for 5 more minutes.  Remove and serve.  Muy delicioso!!

Feel free to send me the pictures of your fab enchiladas since I’m lacking in the photo department this time around.  🙂

6 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Ground Beef Enchiladas

  1. thesweetkitten
    June 12, 2012

    Pictures or not, the recipe makes me feel hungry 🙂

  2. whatimeant2say
    June 12, 2012

    This sounds much better than my enchilada recipe!

  3. susartandfood
    June 14, 2012

    This looks really good. I’m always clicking pictures of our food. I’m sure my other half would just like to eat without having his food posed prior to sitting down. 🙂

  4. Stuff I Can't Post
    June 19, 2012

    HOLY MOLY. Yep. That looks amazing lady! I have to try this out!

    • Audrey
      June 19, 2012

      Let me know how it turns out for you! I still am kicking myself for not having a pic – it was so pretty… 😀

      • Stuff I Can't Post
        June 19, 2012

        Well, that means you should make it again….you know for blog pics….posterity….(or because it is AMAZING) 🙂 I’ll totally let you know. If it turns out pretty, I’ll send you a pic!

Leave a Reply

