Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Softballs, Enchiladas, Friends, and a Hike

How was your weekend?

We wrapped up yet another full and fab one in my lovely corner of the Pacific Northwest.  So here’s the recap along with a few pics of the highlights:

It started after work on Friday with a 4 mile run with J (that totally kicked my butt in a good way).  J spoiled me with some gluten-free lasagna for dinner.

Saturday I cheered on J’s softball team during an all-day tournament and got my daily dose of Vitamin D.  J spoiled me again with his chili for dinner – so yum!  I love dating a guy who cooks.

Then I got a call that one of my friends had just arrived in Seattle after 5 months in Cambodia and she wanted to stop in for a weekend visit.  Yes, please!  I met A at the charter bus stop and loved getting to spend an all too-short weekend with her, hearing about her experiences in Southeast Asia, comparing notes, and just enjoying each other’s company.

On Sunday I showed her some of the best of Bellingham – we went for a hike up to Fragrance Lake in the sunshine, caught some views of Puget Sound, and I think she’s fallen in love with Washington now.

Then we were off to have dinner with friends!  I made up some tasty enchiladas and guacamole for everyone (and neglected to take pics).  They may have been my best enchiladas yet – that or the praise of friends has totally gone to my head – recipe to be posted soon!

I dropped A off to catch her charter bus this morning.  I’m so glad we were able to spend time together to catch up after her adventures in Cambodia.  And now it’s off to a very busy and wonderful week.  Happy Monday!

9 comments on “Softballs, Enchiladas, Friends, and a Hike

  1. ethelthedean
    June 11, 2012

    Lovely snaps, lovely people, lovely food – just fab!

    I’m so glad that the sun came out and the rains stayed away, thank goodness.
    Always such a delight to have this window into your world 🙂
    xx

    • Audrey
      June 11, 2012

      The weather was amazing, and yet again today too! I’m off to play in it now and I truly hope you are as well. You’ve made me smile once again today, thank you, amiga!

  2. captainariel
    June 11, 2012

    Guilty as charged 😉 😀

    • Audrey
      June 11, 2012

      It was so much fun to have you out for the weekend!! Loved getting to spend some quality time together, show you a snippet of Washington, and hear all about your time in Cambodia – some amazing stories!

      • captainariel
        June 12, 2012

        It was an Epic weekend and I hope to have many more with you! 😀

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    June 11, 2012

    I am homesick for my PacNW scenery now! You do live in one of the most beautiful areas of the world! You sure don’t see scenery like that here in Texas….that’s for sure! 🙂

    • Audrey
      June 11, 2012

      Maybe you can make a return trip for a more happy purpose soon – like vacation!

  4. whatimeant2say
    June 11, 2012

    I think that you get more joy out of life than anyone I know!

  5. The Blissful Adventurer
    June 11, 2012

    good stuff. I like your part of the world

Leave a Reply

